Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Just used this for my daughter's birthday cupcakes, the kids all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALYSONBELDEN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Good basic butter frosting recipe. I suggest adding the milk and sugar slowly checking for taste and consistency until it reaches your liking. Easy to add ingredients to this icing to make unique flavors. For example, mix in: Cocoa powder = chocolate icing Instant coffee + cocoa powder = mocha icing Lemon juice = lemon icing Lime juice = lime icing (great on coconut cake) Orange zest = orange icing Dollop of Peanut Butter = pb icing Maple Syrup = Maple icing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
My mom has been using this recipe for as long as I can remember. BEST FROSTING EVER! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This recipe is fantastic! So delicious and better tasting than frosting made with shortening. It thickened up and I decorated my cake with no problems (including piping with various tips). I used slightly less sugar and adjusted the milk accordingly, it worked great. I also used mostly vanilla and added some almond extract, I recommend it as it added such a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Way too sweet but very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BECCAP
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
i used these to frost cupcakes for a bridal shower. loved the taste, but it wasn't a great choice for decorating. it wasn't stiff enough for some of the piping i was doing but it worked well enough. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This was functional but nothing special. It tasted like powdered sugar and butter--but not a really great frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Ultra sweet...but what do you expect with all that sugar. Anyway for those who stated that it was gritty, you MUST sift the powdered/confectioners sugar while mixing the ingredients. It makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Love Love Love this frosting. It is so yummy, the kids loved it. Absolutely perfect and you can just add more milk to make it thinner. Super easy to make. I always double the recipe, because I usually use alot of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Absolutely love the frosting but I did cut the sugar down to 3 cups and I increased the butter to 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deborahdear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States