Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I have used this recipe a countless number of times. It instantly makes anything (cookies, cupcakes, cake, brownies) so much better! Definitely my favorite frosting recipe! Thanks for adding it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This was sooo yummy I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This was such a good recipe. I don't think I'll bother looking for another butter frosting now that I've discovered this one. The texture was perfect and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
GREAT! This is so good: I had my family eating just frosting. Because I was making a coconut cream cake, I added...coconut. Spread on white cake. This is amazing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klineellie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Spring Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
My kids really enjoyed making and eating this frosting! We ended up using 1/2 cup butter, an extra cap full of milk and an extra cap full of vanillla extract to make it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Nice, basic and dependable butter cream frosting, but just a tad on the sweet side if you use all the powdered sugar called for. I stopped at 3-1/2 cups and found it just right, although as little as 2 cups would have worked too. I didn't measure the milk, as how much you use depends on how you plan to use the frosting, and in my case I piped it, so I'm sure I used less than the recipe directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This recipe is extremely easy to make. I used 4 cups of confectioners' sugar instead of 4 1/2 cups. I also used fat free milk. The frosting is very sweet but delicious. I recommend not making the frosting ahead of time. The frosting gets this weird textured if sitting to long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywifehappylife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This is hands-down the BEST frosting I've ever used! The ONLY change we made is the addition of about a tablespoon of milk, but other than that, it's perfect as-is. Just sweet enough, and not buttery or greasy, like some of the shortening-based frostings. I'll use this recipe forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Dont microwave your butter to soften it! I learned my sellons when my frosting kepts seperating. I tried it again and let it soften on its own and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
These are the exact ingredients my grandma taught me how to use! I didn't even know a recipe was needed. We always just eyeballed the ingredients. If it was too wet we added more powdered sugar, too sugary and we added a little more butter, and if too thick we added more milk about a teaspoon at a time. I don't think that it is the best frosting, as it is so super sweet, but it is a very simple frosting that even a kid can make. Cocoa can also be added to make a chocolate version. Although, this frosting will not harden up like a royal or cookie icing, unless the cookies are froze! So, don't plan on using if you're trying to make fancy cookies to take some where and need a hard type icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States