Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This is maybe the sweetest frosting I've ever had! It made the roof of my mouth tingle. I like that, but be advised if you don't! It looses points because it didn't set up well for me and slid off the cake. Probably need to keep it refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Now this is real frosting and exactly the frosting I grew up on. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Port Townsend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I only used 3 cups of powdered sugar and wasn't able to sift it and this is absolutely the best frosting ever. It puts my favorite bakery's to shame...I will def be making this my go to frosting!! Even with the less sugar this is still firm enough that would be great for decorating cookies as well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Blair, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Just used this for my daughter's birthday cupcakes, the kids all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALYSONBELDEN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Good basic butter frosting recipe. I suggest adding the milk and sugar slowly checking for taste and consistency until it reaches your liking. Easy to add ingredients to this icing to make unique flavors. For example, mix in: Cocoa powder = chocolate icing Instant coffee + cocoa powder = mocha icing Lemon juice = lemon icing Lime juice = lime icing (great on coconut cake) Orange zest = orange icing Dollop of Peanut Butter = pb icing Maple Syrup = Maple icing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
My mom has been using this recipe for as long as I can remember. BEST FROSTING EVER! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This recipe is fantastic! So delicious and better tasting than frosting made with shortening. It thickened up and I decorated my cake with no problems (including piping with various tips). I used slightly less sugar and adjusted the milk accordingly, it worked great. I also used mostly vanilla and added some almond extract, I recommend it as it added such a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Way too sweet but very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BECCAP
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
i used these to frost cupcakes for a bridal shower. loved the taste, but it wasn't a great choice for decorating. it wasn't stiff enough for some of the piping i was doing but it worked well enough. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This was functional but nothing special. It tasted like powdered sugar and butter--but not a really great frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States