Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by ?Carol?
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Is easy, fast and you can't get better natural flavors compared to the can...Great recipe with just few ingredients. I would use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ?Carol?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This is probably the best frosting recipe I've tried so far. Had a delicious flavor and everyone loved it. I used less confectioners sugar than called for and it was plenty sweet enough. I think if I had added all of it, it would have been too sweet. I also didn't bother sifting it. We had it on chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Took the advice of many reviewers and cut the sugar. I used 2 cups then gradually added around 3/4 cup more to get the consistency I desired. Still very sweet but tasty. I used it on a date and nut chocolate cake, couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Delicious! I made it last week to ice a batch of cupcakes and was asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovestocook25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Decided to bake some cupcakes thinking I had more powdered sugar (I didn't) and I don't use lard so in a pinch I searched and found this recipe. I scaled it down to 18 servings and the amount was perfect, I even had a little left over! This is very much your favorite aunt's buttercream home frosting, if you are expecting bourgeoisie icing this ain't it, keep searching. But if you like me don't mind using homemade once in a while it works! This would work for a kid's party or for cookie icing but I wouldn't use it on anything fancy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Perfect ratio of butter:sugar:milk:vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Way too sweet! Cut the recipe in half. Was surprised it went well with cupcake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This was the first frosting I ever made and I'm really happy with it! It's smooth and spreads well, and to the one who gave it 2 or 3 stars for being too sweet, obviously it's sweet, it's mostly icing sugar, but it would be perfect for kids or parties! I'm 25 and don't find it too sweet at all, it's perfect, but my pallet loves sweet things, if you aren't a sugar type of person, it might be too much for you! Maybe balance it with a less sweet cake of cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
A little too sweet and not stiff enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Quick and easy recipe for frosting. Cut the recipe in half as I didn't need too much (only needed some to write on Humungous Cookies from this site). Even cutting the recipe in half, I used less than half the amount of icing sugar, probably only 1 1/2 cups instead of 2 1/4 based on half recipe. Found it sweet enough this way. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 31-40 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States