Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Good Icing. I added double the butter because it was still really thick and tasted really sugary and less buttery. I aslo had to add a little more milk, but only like a teaspoon to get it to a spreadable consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This recipe is very SWEET! literally. Good for cookie cut-outs. I used berries to add some natural color instead of the food dye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarCrystal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ridgefield, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Too sugary and very difficult to get to the perfect consistency. Did not taste buttery at all. Just Okay and I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
i added a little bit of cream cheese to this recipe and that made it thicker so it was easier to spread on the cupcakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I halved the sugar in this recipe and all my family still said it was way too sweet. It was kind of grainy although I beat it very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sy Chandell
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I used sour cream instead of milk, with great success. Tasted fantastic! Also used a bit more butter than was asked for, 1/2c. Made this way, it was thick and spreadable, but also pipe-able! Everyone really enjoyed it. Be sure to use it on a cookie or cupcake that is not too sweet. This frosting is plenty sweet. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sy Chandell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bandon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
tasted just like store bought frosting, very easy but not worth the dirty dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
just perfect for my cupcakes. made a surprising amount. I could half the recipe for 2 dozen cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rumba-queen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mill Valley, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Great frosting recipe, will use again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This frosting was pretty easy to make, it used readily available ingredients and looked pretty. All in all, I found it to be WAY too sweet and other than that it didn't really have much of a flavor. I felt almost ill from the sweetness. It was borderline inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States