Butter Fried Parsnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I remembered my Grandmother/Mother making something for me when I was little that I could not put my finger on. After trying a parsnip after many many years it all came together. This is exacly how they used to make them, only I don't think they boiled them or floured them. I just fried them in butter/olive oil with salt & pepper and it was exactly what I have been searching for all of these years. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
Probably not the healthiest way to eat parsnips - but by far the best I have ever tasted. Makes me want to try it with turnips or rutabaga.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenhills, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I've never made parsnips before- this was a first for me. I sliced them the long way, which was a pain, but they're attractive that way and cook quickly, so it was alright. I seasoned the parsnips with salt and pepper, did NOT boil them first, did NOT add flour either, and dropped them into a butter/olive oil mixture (I didn't want the butter to burn). They really came out delicious- tender, tasty, and my family loved them (even my dad, and he doesn't like anything unless it's a potato). I'd definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Really easy and super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Every since we had fried parsnips at NOLA in New Orleans we have been in love with that dish. This is not quite as good but a good substitute to make at home. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
Turned out well. Didn't like it personally but was a hit with the rest of the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneDough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morne Jaloux, Saint George, Grenada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
I made this recipe.It was quick and simple.I found there was no flavour of parsnip and you could taste only the flour.My family did not like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maple bear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
I was looking for a simple recipe with not many ingrtedients and found this. It worked wonderfully and I had parsnips for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Moberly, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
I loovvved them. Probably not the healthiest way to eat veggies, ... but who cares! I left off the flour, cause I semi-low carbing. Brought me back to my childhood when Grandma used to make 'em. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
Definitely awesome college-student-with-a-kitchenette comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Oven Grilled Parsnips

See how to make wonderfully caramelized “grilled” parsnips in the oven.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States