Butter Fried Parsnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I've never made parsnips before- this was a first for me. I sliced them the long way, which was a pain, but they're attractive that way and cook quickly, so it was alright. I seasoned the parsnips with salt and pepper, did NOT boil them first, did NOT add flour either, and dropped them into a butter/olive oil mixture (I didn't want the butter to burn). They really came out delicious- tender, tasty, and my family loved them (even my dad, and he doesn't like anything unless it's a potato). I'd definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2001
I grew up loving parsnips cooked this way by a beloved grandmother. She didnot coat them, just sauted them slowly in the butter. Yummy but an aquired taste, I feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Proof you just can't go wrong frying something in butter! This was outstanding, and my husband and I aren't huge parsnip fans. We've been trying to eat local foods in season, and all winter I avoided parsnips except mixed in with lots of other veggies to the point where you can't even taste them. Finally, I saw what is probably the very last parsnips of the season, and I decided that I had to stop being a wimp and give it a go. And boy am I glad I did. Even one of my 2 year old twins ate this up, which felt like a small miracle. My only problem now is that I'm going to have to wait until next winter to eat this again. Well, I guess it's good to have things to look forward to in the winter! Thanks for the delightful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I remembered my Grandmother/Mother making something for me when I was little that I could not put my finger on. After trying a parsnip after many many years it all came together. This is exacly how they used to make them, only I don't think they boiled them or floured them. I just fried them in butter/olive oil with salt & pepper and it was exactly what I have been searching for all of these years. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
I loovvved them. Probably not the healthiest way to eat veggies, ... but who cares! I left off the flour, cause I semi-low carbing. Brought me back to my childhood when Grandma used to make 'em. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
I made this recipe.It was quick and simple.I found there was no flavour of parsnip and you could taste only the flour.My family did not like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maple bear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
Probably not the healthiest way to eat parsnips - but by far the best I have ever tasted. Makes me want to try it with turnips or rutabaga.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenhills, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Every since we had fried parsnips at NOLA in New Orleans we have been in love with that dish. This is not quite as good but a good substitute to make at home. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Really easy and super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
Definitely awesome college-student-with-a-kitchenette comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven Grilled Parsnips

See how to make wonderfully caramelized “grilled” parsnips in the oven.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States