Butter Fried Parsnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Proof you just can't go wrong frying something in butter! This was outstanding, and my husband and I aren't huge parsnip fans. We've been trying to eat local foods in season, and all winter I avoided parsnips except mixed in with lots of other veggies to the point where you can't even taste them. Finally, I saw what is probably the very last parsnips of the season, and I decided that I had to stop being a wimp and give it a go. And boy am I glad I did. Even one of my 2 year old twins ate this up, which felt like a small miracle. My only problem now is that I'm going to have to wait until next winter to eat this again. Well, I guess it's good to have things to look forward to in the winter! Thanks for the delightful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by djo
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Good recipe. Root vegetables are awesome when fried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampere, Pirkanmaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I remembered my Grandmother/Mother making something for me when I was little that I could not put my finger on. After trying a parsnip after many many years it all came together. This is exacly how they used to make them, only I don't think they boiled them or floured them. I just fried them in butter/olive oil with salt & pepper and it was exactly what I have been searching for all of these years. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
Probably not the healthiest way to eat parsnips - but by far the best I have ever tasted. Makes me want to try it with turnips or rutabaga.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenhills, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I've never made parsnips before- this was a first for me. I sliced them the long way, which was a pain, but they're attractive that way and cook quickly, so it was alright. I seasoned the parsnips with salt and pepper, did NOT boil them first, did NOT add flour either, and dropped them into a butter/olive oil mixture (I didn't want the butter to burn). They really came out delicious- tender, tasty, and my family loved them (even my dad, and he doesn't like anything unless it's a potato). I'd definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Really easy and super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Every since we had fried parsnips at NOLA in New Orleans we have been in love with that dish. This is not quite as good but a good substitute to make at home. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
Turned out well. Didn't like it personally but was a hit with the rest of the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneDough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morne Jaloux, Saint George, Grenada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
I made this recipe.It was quick and simple.I found there was no flavour of parsnip and you could taste only the flour.My family did not like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maple bear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Grilled Parsnips

See how to make wonderfully caramelized “grilled” parsnips in the oven.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States