Butter Fried Parsnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This recipe brings me back to my childhood. My Dad would cover a mound of parsnips with straw and soil to store them over the winter. In late winter or early spring he would break into the cache and prepare them this way, well maybe a little more butter. The nuttiness of this root vegetable is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Searsboro, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Never tried parsnips before - but they were great prepared this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Noble Ethridge

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muscle Shoals, Alabama, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
i love parsnips and i do the all above without the flour but think i will try this way. :) thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonbon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Yummm!!! Loved this, will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Very tasty way to make Parsnips. My husband picked some up from a local market and we weren't quite sure what to do with them. Instead of the 1/2 cup of butter I used some olive oil mixed with a bit of garlic butter and that worked great! Very yummy and the hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I really didn't like this at all. Even if you enjoy the taste of parsnip, cutting it lengthwise really makes it quite tough and stringy. Will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I didn't coat them at all. I just fry them in a little butter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zary125

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
this was great. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktastrophe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
My Mother and Grandmother browned boiled parsnips in bacon grease (not much healthier than butter - but more flavor). Loved them as a child and still like them at least once a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Groveport, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Havn't made these for years but glad I did! Very sweet and tender! Better than french fries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Oven Grilled Parsnips

See how to make wonderfully caramelized “grilled” parsnips in the oven.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States