Butter Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I had given up making pies as I could not get the crust right. This recipe was easy an delicious. i watched the video and used my food processor. Best pie crust ever, as good as my pie making friends make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sonoma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I used this crust with a chicken pot pie recipe. Perfect texture, and easy with processor. I added some curry powder , pepper, and a little garlic powder to the flour...we thought it was really good!! Thank you for giving us this simple, yet , great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I made a chunky beef pot pie and used this recipe for the pastry top tonight. I normally use shortening for pastry but when I saw this recipe I had to try. The pastry came together well, I chilled it for about 2.5 hours. I knew not to overwork the dough when I rolled it out. I have to say this buttery flaky pastry complimented the savory beef stew better than my usual pastry top. I enjoyed this recipe and can see trying it for other recipes like dessert pies, tarts, and cheese straws.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as directed, except I was using salted butter, so I measured the salt scantly. It was amazing!! Even my German American mom who has made her own shortening based pie crusts for years said it was the best she had ever had and wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I wasn't real impressed by this crust recipe. It looked greasy while baking. Maybe I rolled it out too thin, the edges were crunchy in places and it tasted like butter and flour. I ended up using more than the 1/4 cup water. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
It's not like a piecrust. It's more like a dough. Like a breadough. It doesn't roll out like pie crust. It does not roll out flaky. It rolls out like when making rolls , etc. Haven't eaten it yet. It's too hot. but will post a photo and update latger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Amazing byt i found most effective was cute butter into cubes, freeze it for a couple minutes. Then mix flour and butter together with you hands. Butter should be a little flat then add water and mix with my own hands. Came out super flaky just the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
perfectly flaky as long as you only use 2 tablespoons of water. the dough should not be gooey (which is what happens when you follow the recipe to a tee).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spark66
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I like how this crust came out. I used a food processor to mix the ingredients. I prefer to use one instead of other techniques to keep the mix cold. Tasted delicious for the mini apple pies I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Easy and versatile. I use this for everything that needs a crust, and double it for things that need a double crust. I've made lemon meringue pie, apple tarts, and cobblers from this crust. FANTASTIC! I just pull the butter right out of the fridge when i want to make some crust, quickly cut the butter into little pieces and slap the pie crust together fast with a pastry cutter. Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 916) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States