Butter Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Just made this recipe last night and it is by far the easiest recipe I've used. I don't make pie crust often so it is really hard to make a good one, but not with this recipe. I took a pinch off one of my pies this morning and it is very flakey. I did use half unsalted butter and half Spectrum Organic All Vegetable Shortening and it turned out GREAT. I did not have the time to chill my dough and I think this crust is fabulous, but I will chill it next time to see if it make any difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Awesome. Very tasty. I am not a pie crust person, but this I liked. one thing I did differently though was not put it in the fridge at all. I put it in the freezer for about five minutes and had no problems. One suggestion is after putting the pie crust in the pan, place it in the oven for about 10-15 minutes. So it is a little golden but not brown before putting the pie filling in. This helps so that the crust does not get soggy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
First thing, 1/4 cup of water is still too much water for this amount of flour. You'll end up needing to add more flour. Even after having to do that, it is not enough crust for a whole 9" pie crust pan. It barely fit the bottom of the pan and there was no crust left for the top of the pie. I ended up having to delay making my pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Super easy to roll out and work with. I love the flavor from the butter. So much better than crisco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMCLRH2O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Not sure why but I had to use more water than it calls for just to get it to stick enough to form a ball. Hoping m crust won't be tough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
This pie crust is AMAZING! Very east to make and super flaky! This was my first time making a pie crust and everyone loved it! I made sure to read everyone else's comments about it before i made it, glad I did! I definitely made sure the butter and my pasty mixer were COLD because that seemed to be what everyone stressed about. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
So good! This crust performs every time. I usually have to cut in the butter with a fork which is a great workout and needs some extra butter to make the big crumbs. This crust is the only I will make and is a perfect complement to any pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This recipe is perfect. I don't bother putting water in the freezer. I just put ice cubes in my pyrex measuring cup. Then I fill it to 1 Cup full, and when I'm ready only pour out half. It doesn't have to be hard. Yum. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
A-maz-ing! Enough said!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This is a great recipe. I used my kitchenaid mixer instead of a pastry cutter. I froze my unsalted butter then used a cheese grater to cut up the butter. It worked great! The crust was flaky and buttery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 868) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States