Butter Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Makes a nice crispy crust with good flavor. Just watch the water as you add it. Keep the dough on the dry side. I used it for quiche, and it wasn't soggy on the bottom after baking. I will try it next time for a sweet pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Tried this recipe for pumpkin pie-this may work better for a two crust pie but for a pumpkin pie it shrunk, pooled butter around edges and didn't cook properly on bottom. I keep rethinking how I made it and maybe I did something wrong before but I wouldn't try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by uwsupergirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This is the best pie crust I've ever had, all other pie crust is just doughy which I can't stand, this one is tasty and flaky and crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margirene

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Finally! After 39 years of looking for a pie crust that rolls out easily and can transfer to a pie pan without falling apart. The dough is like elastic. I stumbled upon this recipe on Thanksgiving morning. I made it in my food processor. It is also very tasty! Thanks to the person that submitted this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This crust was very easy to roll out, and the finished texture and flavor were perfect. As it was baking (I used it for a sweet potato pie), the whole house was filled with an enticing scent and the crust's flavor lived up to that olfactory promise. One note: keep an eye on it as it bakes, because the edges will burn in a hurry. You may want to rotate your pies or cover the crust with foil or a commercial crust protector to avoid this. Other than that, it was great even though I was only able to refrigerate it for 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Beautiful, easy to make, delicious. Followed recipe almost exactly but needed a pinch more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Best crust recipe I've ever used. Perfect buttery flaky crust. I put the butter in the freezer for 15 minutes before the flour, salt and butter in the food processor and pulsing it until crumbly. So pleased with the result. My crust recipe search is over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
tastes good, but super hard and messy to make, at least for me. maybe just because it was my first time, i'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Just made this recipe last night and it is by far the easiest recipe I've used. I don't make pie crust often so it is really hard to make a good one, but not with this recipe. I took a pinch off one of my pies this morning and it is very flakey. I did use half unsalted butter and half Spectrum Organic All Vegetable Shortening and it turned out GREAT. I did not have the time to chill my dough and I think this crust is fabulous, but I will chill it next time to see if it make any difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kacy Curran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Awesome. Very tasty. I am not a pie crust person, but this I liked. one thing I did differently though was not put it in the fridge at all. I put it in the freezer for about five minutes and had no problems. One suggestion is after putting the pie crust in the pan, place it in the oven for about 10-15 minutes. So it is a little golden but not brown before putting the pie filling in. This helps so that the crust does not get soggy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 876) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States