Butter Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as directed, except I was using salted butter, so I measured the salt scantly. It was amazing!! Even my German American mom who has made her own shortening based pie crusts for years said it was the best she had ever had and wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I wasn't real impressed by this crust recipe. It looked greasy while baking. Maybe I rolled it out too thin, the edges were crunchy in places and it tasted like butter and flour. I ended up using more than the 1/4 cup water. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
It's not like a piecrust. It's more like a dough. Like a breadough. It doesn't roll out like pie crust. It does not roll out flaky. It rolls out like when making rolls , etc. Haven't eaten it yet. It's too hot. but will post a photo and update latger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Amazing byt i found most effective was cute butter into cubes, freeze it for a couple minutes. Then mix flour and butter together with you hands. Butter should be a little flat then add water and mix with my own hands. Came out super flaky just the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
perfectly flaky as long as you only use 2 tablespoons of water. the dough should not be gooey (which is what happens when you follow the recipe to a tee).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spark66
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I like how this crust came out. I used a food processor to mix the ingredients. I prefer to use one instead of other techniques to keep the mix cold. Tasted delicious for the mini apple pies I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Easy and versatile. I use this for everything that needs a crust, and double it for things that need a double crust. I've made lemon meringue pie, apple tarts, and cobblers from this crust. FANTASTIC! I just pull the butter right out of the fridge when i want to make some crust, quickly cut the butter into little pieces and slap the pie crust together fast with a pastry cutter. Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This was my first successful attempt at pie crust. I followed the directions nearly exactly as written, except I mistakenly added 1 1/3 cup flour instead of 1 1/4 cup flour. It turned out perfectly. Light, flaky, buttery and delicious. I used it to make empanadas that received rave reviews. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Awesome crust!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Perfect on my first try. This is the best pie crust recipe, and you don't even need a food processor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 863) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States