Butter Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
use this crust for everything! it is fast, simple and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizard_c9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
It worked, but it was not easy. I had to add extra flour- I was trying to use margarine instead of butter, I'm sure that had an effect because margarine is soft even after refrigerated, next time, I'm going to use a recipe that calls for shortening. I wound up finishing this in my food processor. I used this for a quiche. It was good. My boyfriend asked me to make him a plate full of crust all by itself. This was my first time making a crust. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Temple Aura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Easy & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
It was my first time with any kind of pastry and I was totally spooked by the stories of how difficult it is to get right! I don't have a pastry cutter or a food processor to use so I just cut up the cold butter and worked it in the flour with my hands. Despite all the horror stories and inexperience, it turned out perfect. I used a trick my mom taught me, and rolled out the dough between two sheets of clean plastic bags. That makes it easy to transfer and it doesn't stick to anything. Also, keeping it well refrigerated helps, but I didn't even need to leave it in overnight, just 15 min in the freezer plus an hour in the fridge. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Bottesini

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I made this crust for the first time Saturday, chilled it overnight, and baked it into a delicious apple pie Sunday. It's only been one day, and it's almost gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Campbell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This is an awesome recipe! Have not tried it in a sweet application yet, but I'm sure it's just as delicious. So buttery...and browns so nicely! Will use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This was the best and easiest pie crust I've ever made. I mixed it by hand and I did not refrigerate it. I greased the baking dish and pressed it into the dish with buttered fingers. Made an apple pie, used the same crust recipe for the top, but added cinnamon and brown sugar and made a crumb crust. Baked it for 50 minutes. This crust was crispy and delicious! Will use this recipe from now on. I think the real butter made the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I have been making this pie crust for a few years now, with perfect results every time. One thing I change is that instead of refrigerating the dough for four hours, I pop the plastic wrapped dough in the freezer for an hour - no longer. It comes out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sooke, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I used this recipe to make my very first from-scratch pie crust yesterday, and it turned out AMAZING. In fact, I can't believe how well it turned out for a first pie crust. The pastry is so buttery and flaky, and it holds its shape incredibly well. I used this recipe in conjunction with the pie section of Joy of Cooking, which gives a plethora of helpful info on mixing, rolling, and forming pie crusts. In a nutshell, it seems to come down to the following: (1) think COLD. Everything should be cold, from the utensils to the ingredients to your hands. Since my apartment tends to be warm, I even threw the bag of flour in the fridge for a few hours before I started.(2) Mess with the dough as little as possible. Cut the butter in just enough to make large crumbs, no kneading or excessive stirring, and use the least amount of strokes rolling it. (3) Use just enough water to allow the crumbs to come together. No more. I liked one user's suggestion of flicking the ice-cold water in with tines of a fork. It distributes the water well while preventing the dough from getting too wet. This is the perfect recipe for a beginner like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I was out of shortening and in need of a pie crust so I found this recipe - delicious! I don't think I'm going back to my other pie crust, that's how flaky this one was. Followed the directions exactly since I don't bake very often and it turned out really well. Next time I'd like to have my butter chilled a bit more but I just didn't have time this go 'round. Regardless, this crust was a lovely base for my tomato pie. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Justice Yost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 965) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States