Butter Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Francine Lizotte
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2015
I could never make a nice flaky, tender pie crust but this one is THE ONE! I followed the directions almost to a "t". I took the advice of "chibi chef" and put my 1/4 cup of water in the freezer until crystals began to form. I only refrigerated for 2 hours and I didn't have any problem rolling out the dough. From now on, this will be my go-to pie crust recipe...no more store-bought dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francine Lizotte

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2015
I've made this crust many times and it's practically replaced my grandmother's amazing corn oil crust. It's awesome, and not too hard to make. It's hard to find a butter crust recipe without sugar in it, and this one does quite well. One tip, don't skip the refrigerator step. It really helps to make the crust flaky. Also, I cut the butter sticks lengthwise on two sides and then slice it, makes for nice small chunks to work in. I just use my fingers, but small chunks of butter are key to working it in quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2015
Exactly the texture I like in a pie crust. Did not have time to chill adequately, so it was delicate, had to patch it, but it was so good I did not care that it was a little hard to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2015
Perfect crust recipe! I made without any modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cheriechat
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
Turned out flaky and delicious! I brushed the bottom with egg yolk and the peaches stayed in place. Also put the dish with the bottom crust in it in the freezer while I rolled out the top. I believe that helped keep it light and layered. Will use this recipe as my " go to" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
Loved this recipe and will definitely use it again. I followed the instructions and it turned out perfect. A definite must; cold butter and ice cold water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
I thought the flavor of this crust was pretty good, however I was hoping for a little more flakiness. This could be due to my inexperience in making pie crusts, though. It was extremely easy to make, especially using the food processor. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Dana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
Yum! I doubled this recipe for a black raspberry pie with lattice crust. It was very good! I wasn't patient enough to wait the full amount of refrigeration time, but this crust was still wonderful. Despite the gooey, juicy pie, this crust was perfectly browned, flakey, and crisp after cooling all night long. The bottom crust was not soggy at all. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
Spectacular success. Used the Chef John's Peach Pie recipe on this site, and doubled the crust recipe to make the crust and a lattice top. Pie gone in one day among 3 people. Had to make another one the following weekend by popular demand. EVERYONE raved about the crust! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
PERFECT PIE CRUST! I used less water than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 965) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States