Butter Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This is my quick and easy yet extremely flaky and tasteful pie crust. I usually double everything to get the amount of dough needed for my pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katiepayton
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
So delicious. I used Earthbalance butter, which is vegan. I accidentally just baked it without putting dry beans in the center, so it totally puffed up, and the sides slouched. But it's totally fine :) Also: I put all ingredients in the freezer to get cold. And I only refrigerated it for 2 or less hours. Buttery, flaky crust, JUST like it says :) Make it, and enjoy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
It's simply, it's tasty, it's easy and it works! What more could you ask for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Delicioso! Also good for pot pies & tortillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayme Edon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
This is a really good recipe and always turns out nice. ive made it many times, and only about once it was perfect. otherwise its too sticky or too dry, but in the end of the day, after you've baked the pie or whatever, it TASTES SOOO GOOOD!! but yeah. i haven't made it with food processor, so maybe if you do that, it'll turn out better.....idk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChEfInTrAiNiNg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Perfect. I've used this recipe at least ten times (I love to bake) and doubled it each time, following the recipe exactly. It's perfectly flaky, buttery, and works great for apple pie, sweet potato pie, pecan pie, etc. I put my water, mixing bowl, butter, and pastry cutter in the freezer for 5 minutes before making the crust. This keeps everything good n' cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Really good. I'll use this recipe for most of my pies. Love the butter. Definitely must put in the fridge over night and use limited handling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Absolutely delicious and super easy. Made for chicken pot pie. Eggwashed the bottom crust and baked for 5 mins at 400 degrees before filling, also egg washed the top crust. Took the suggestion of another commenter and grated the frozen butter with a cheese grater, it was hard work but worth it! Used the leftover bits for a chicken pot "pocket", even after the dough was warm and handled- it rolled and baked beautifully. The key is to keep everything as cold as possible when mixing this dough. My new official crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I doubled the recipe so I could have a top, and a bottom for my blueberry pie and I had some leftover! I made an apple pie with the leftover crust! Well, back to the crust...It is yummy, flaky, and perfectly crispy. My family raved over it! I made a blueberry pie with mine and when it came out of the oven, I brushed it with melted butter and sprinkled it with cinnamon-sugar. That pie didn't last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I love the flavor, but I still have trouble with the balance between getting it to roll out and overworking it. And why is it that I always seem to need more icewater than is called for in the recipe? I do buy flour in bulk and store it a long time (in a cool dry place, sealed container). Is my flour dryer than that of other people?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamaica, New York, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 932) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States