Butter Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Used this for an apple pie last night. It turned out perfect. I hand blended everything and it came together nicely. I didn't end up using all of the water though, only about half of what was called for. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jalbee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Best recipe. . I don't plan on using or trying any other! 4 ingredients. . Flaky... simple.. delicious! need I say more?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Juvera

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
After being in the fridge for 4 hours, it was a really hard ball, but after I smushed it and stuck it to my pie plate, it turned out very well. I think I might should have rolled it out and put it in the pie plate before refridgerating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Followed the recipe as written and it came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer Mooneyham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
use this crust for everything! it is fast, simple and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizard_c9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
It worked, but it was not easy. I had to add extra flour- I was trying to use margarine instead of butter, I'm sure that had an effect because margarine is soft even after refrigerated, next time, I'm going to use a recipe that calls for shortening. I wound up finishing this in my food processor. I used this for a quiche. It was good. My boyfriend asked me to make him a plate full of crust all by itself. This was my first time making a crust. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Temple Aura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Easy & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
It was my first time with any kind of pastry and I was totally spooked by the stories of how difficult it is to get right! I don't have a pastry cutter or a food processor to use so I just cut up the cold butter and worked it in the flour with my hands. Despite all the horror stories and inexperience, it turned out perfect. I used a trick my mom taught me, and rolled out the dough between two sheets of clean plastic bags. That makes it easy to transfer and it doesn't stick to anything. Also, keeping it well refrigerated helps, but I didn't even need to leave it in overnight, just 15 min in the freezer plus an hour in the fridge. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Bottesini

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I made this crust for the first time Saturday, chilled it overnight, and baked it into a delicious apple pie Sunday. It's only been one day, and it's almost gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Campbell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This is an awesome recipe! Only tried it because we did not have shortening in the house when we were going to make the Cook's Illustrated crust (the one with vodka in it, which is awesome also) for a galette--so glad! Have not tried it in a sweet application yet, but I'm sure it's just as delicious. So buttery...and browns so nicely! Will use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 879) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States