Butter Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I like this because its easy! I love to cook but im not a great baker... I made this and it came out great. Thanks for shareing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueannP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I haven't made a pie crust since high school home ec almost 20 years ago. I know how difficult they can be to get right so I was nervous! I wanted to use butter instead of shortening and found this recipe. I'm sold! I only had salted butter so I omitted the salt. I also took a commenter's suggestion and grated the butter with a cheese grater then re-froze for several minutes so that it was extremely cold. The amount of water you will need varies. Work in 1 tbsp at a time with a fork. I believe mine needed around 5 tbsp. I only had around 45 minutes to refridgerate and it did not slow this crust down. Made a double crust and Grandma Ople's Apple Pie and it was a hit! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ami Price

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I found only sprinkling 1/4 cup of ice water i wasn't getting a dough at all but just really crumbly flour. ....so I added much much more....is this usual? Possible that my house is too warm or something?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RealmMeira

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I have used this recipe so many times! It is WONDERFUL! I did try making it with margarine, which didn't work, so stick with butter. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Sylvester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Perfect crust! I followed the recipe exactly and ended up with a deliciously flaky and buttery crust. I chilled all ingredients, including the flour. At first the dough is hard to roll out, but keep turning it and it will become more malleable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I am not sure if I overworked the dough or not. It was very difficult to roll out, very crummy. The crust was very tough and not flaky at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Excellent crust! Very flaky and easy to work with. Double batch makes enough for two pies with two fancy cut out crusts, or three full pie crusts! Thank you, Dana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sego

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Painted Post, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Used this for an apple pie last night. It turned out perfect. I hand blended everything and it came together nicely. I didn't end up using all of the water though, only about half of what was called for. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jalbee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Best recipe. . I don't plan on using or trying any other! 4 ingredients. . Flaky... simple.. delicious! need I say more?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Juvera

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
After being in the fridge for 4 hours, it was a really hard ball, but after I smushed it and stuck it to my pie plate, it turned out very well. I think I might should have rolled it out and put it in the pie plate before refridgerating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 886) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States