Butter Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I have been making this pie crust for a few years now, with perfect results every time. One thing I change is that instead of refrigerating the dough for four hours, I pop the plastic wrapped dough in the freezer for an hour - no longer. It comes out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sooke, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I used this recipe to make my very first from-scratch pie crust yesterday, and it turned out AMAZING. In fact, I can't believe how well it turned out for a first pie crust. The pastry is so buttery and flaky, and it holds its shape incredibly well. I used this recipe in conjunction with the pie section of Joy of Cooking, which gives a plethora of helpful info on mixing, rolling, and forming pie crusts. In a nutshell, it seems to come down to the following: (1) think COLD. Everything should be cold, from the utensils to the ingredients to your hands. Since my apartment tends to be warm, I even threw the bag of flour in the fridge for a few hours before I started.(2) Mess with the dough as little as possible. Cut the butter in just enough to make large crumbs, no kneading or excessive stirring, and use the least amount of strokes rolling it. (3) Use just enough water to allow the crumbs to come together. No more. I liked one user's suggestion of flicking the ice-cold water in with tines of a fork. It distributes the water well while preventing the dough from getting too wet. This is the perfect recipe for a beginner like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I was out of shortening and in need of a pie crust so I found this recipe - delicious! I don't think I'm going back to my other pie crust, that's how flaky this one was. Followed the directions exactly since I don't bake very often and it turned out really well. Next time I'd like to have my butter chilled a bit more but I just didn't have time this go 'round. Regardless, this crust was a lovely base for my tomato pie. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Used this for a pot pie and it came out perfect! Very simple and easy to prepare. Make it maybe the night before your going to make the meal, or dessert, give it time to really chill. Be careful with the amount of water you use! don't add to much or it will be too sticky! Use ICE water not just cold water, it does make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ariana R

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I overworked the dough in the food processor when I read all the reviews while the dough was resting in the frig. It really didn't make that much difference on my pot pie and it came out light and flaky anyway. It might have made a difference with another kind of pie but this one was great. Thanks for the recipe that I will use again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Dry. Crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I really liked this recipe it was perfect for the pie I made for a charity event here in my town.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I thought this recipe was extremely simple and just great it tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
This pie crust turned out great! I followed another reviewer's advice and grated the butter with a cheese grater because I didn't have a food processer. (The butter wasn't frozen, just chilled.) I put the dough ball in the freezer because I didn't feel like waiting for four hours, and then rolled it out after 30 minutes. The crust turned out buttery, flaky, and delicious. I'll never used pre-made crust again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 868) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States