Butter Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
If you like butter then, yes, this recipe is for you. I think it's a bit heavy and overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Have used this recipe many times and will continue to, its awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
The dough was a lot tougher to roll out and not near as flaky as the recipe we usually use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Very simple and buttery. You can always add a tlb or 2 of sugar for a sweeter crust if doing desserts. When the pie is almost done, I brush a combo of egg and cream on top and sprinkle sugar. This was one of my Grandmother's tricks. It makes the crust pretty and gives a nice sugar crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna Jamil

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alli Shircliff
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Super easy and made a delicious crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli Shircliff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I have a question. Do I have to make two batches of this dough to be able to have a bottom and top crust? Or this recipe makes enough for both bottom and top?? Someone please help Asap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
We spent hours preparing the butter and the crust and then when we put it in the oven it was destroyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rainey
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I just made 5 pies with this recipe. Increased with the adjust pie recipe to 40 people. This recipe turned out awesome. I left the pastry in the fridge overnight and took it out about 40 mins before I used it. It rolled out perfectly and tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I used this crust to make muffin tin pumpkin pies, and one crust made exactly 12 pies. It baked to done in 30 minutes. And let me tell you, it was absolute PERFECTION and incredibly easy. This was my first homemade pie crust ever. I'll never use a refrigerated pie crust again (they're too finicky anyways :P). I was a bit scared that the butter would shrink them down as it melted, but they stayed a pretty great size. And, to be honest, I got a kick seeing all the speckles of butter throughout the dough. I added about a tablespoon of sugar as well. It rolled out super easily, and super nicely. I also made a large pie, and I could easily scallop the edges. It's easily the prettiest pie I've ever made. This is going to be my go to pie crust recipe for life, I can just tell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 916) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States