Butter Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by cheriechat
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
Turned out flaky and delicious! I brushed the bottom with egg yolk and the peaches stayed in place. Also put the dish with the bottom crust in it in the freezer while I rolled out the top. I believe that helped keep it light and layered. Will use this recipe as my " go to" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
Loved this recipe and will definitely use it again. I followed the instructions and it turned out perfect. A definite must; cold butter and ice cold water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
I thought the flavor of this crust was pretty good, however I was hoping for a little more flakiness. This could be due to my inexperience in making pie crusts, though. It was extremely easy to make, especially using the food processor. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Dana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
Yum! I doubled this recipe for a black raspberry pie with lattice crust. It was very good! I wasn't patient enough to wait the full amount of refrigeration time, but this crust was still wonderful. Despite the gooey, juicy pie, this crust was perfectly browned, flakey, and crisp after cooling all night long. The bottom crust was not soggy at all. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
Spectacular success. Used the Chef John's Peach Pie recipe on this site, and doubled the crust recipe to make the crust and a lattice top. Pie gone in one day among 3 people. Had to make another one the following weekend by popular demand. EVERYONE raved about the crust! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
PERFECT PIE CRUST! I used less water than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
We had to substitute flour for gluten-free flour. My son has never made a crust before and decided to give this one a whirl. We used it for making hand pies and this crust worked very well. I think we'll add a touch of sugar for next time but I can see making this again. It was easy and tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dotchi Latham

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Libby, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
This basic recipe is good, and it also right out the ancient, but still relevant, cookbook The Joy of Cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean Padden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
This recipe made a double crust pie for me. I used rock hard frozen butter so I knew I would need a little more water (someone asked why they use more water). For the water I just make a glass of ice water -- no need to measure because the flour tells me when to stop. I also use the food processor when adding the water, but I use a pulse after each addition water; a very quick pulse and it will either stick together like dough, or need another addition of water. Don't pulse again out of curiosity wondering if there is enough water. As soon as you have added enough water it will immediately look like dough after a very quick pulse pulse. I always roll it out between 2 sheets of plastic wrap -- throw a little flour on the plastic wrap so you can peel it off easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa...

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
I double the recipe. I also don't put in the fridge. I leave it in the bowl covered with a towel. Then when I'm done with my chicken pot pie filling I roll it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 961) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States