Butter Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
This basic recipe is good, and it also right out the ancient, but still relevant, cookbook The Joy of Cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean Padden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
This recipe made a double crust pie for me. I used rock hard frozen butter so I knew I would need a little more water (someone asked why they use more water). For the water I just make a glass of ice water -- no need to measure because the flour tells me when to stop. I also use the food processor when adding the water, but I use a pulse after each addition water; a very quick pulse and it will either stick together like dough, or need another addition of water. Don't pulse again out of curiosity wondering if there is enough water. As soon as you have added enough water it will immediately look like dough after a very quick pulse pulse. I always roll it out between 2 sheets of plastic wrap -- throw a little flour on the plastic wrap so you can peel it off easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa...

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
I double the recipe. I also don't put in the fridge. I leave it in the bowl covered with a towel. Then when I'm done with my chicken pot pie filling I roll it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
This is the best not a pie maker cakes yes pie no but I loved it the crust was so nice made it into a cobbler and it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilovecookinh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
I used this for pot pies and it worked out great! I was looking for an unsweetened pie crust and this was just buttery goodness :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
When I first made it I was scared to death that I would overwork the dough. Don't worry so much about that. It will turn out fine. I put the butter and the water in the freezer for several minutes to make sure they are cold. Instead of a pastry cutter i use two knives to cut in the butter (slice them through the butter, toward myself until they hit the bowl. Do this quickly).I use a fork to add the water but then I work the dough with my hands, after running them under cold water. When you get the ball of dough out the next day, it will take a very long time to get soft enough to work with, so plan on that. Roll the dough out between two sheets of wax paper...this makes it so much easier. It has a tendency to break apart a little but that's easy to repair. Sometimes, I roll out the dough between the wax paper and then refrigerate overnight. It takes less time to warm up and works just fine. What you want to see are areas of butter blobs in the crust. This is what makes it flaky. This crust has been perfect for me every time. It's the only pie crust recipe I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
Perfect every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
This has become my go to crust recipe! It works great for my potato tart. When I use it for pies or toaster pastries I add about 1 tablespoon of sugar! This crust never let's me down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
I haven't tried this with a dessert pie yet but I used it for quiche. I noticed that there was no cooking time or temp so I just tried 325 for about 20 minutes or until slightly golden. Then I baked my quiche for about 20 more minutes and it turned out perfect. I'm saving this recipe for future use for sure. No alterations either, perfect recipe as is. Just make sure your ingredients are cold and you poke your crust before baking. It also helps to have a weight or something to prevent bubbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Gwinn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna the Baker
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
First time I made pie, and this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 954) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States