Butter Crescents Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
so easy and really good moist and fluffy. I filled some with chopped semi-sweet chocolate, and the others with milk chocolate b4 rolling into crescents. Make sure you stuff them well, cuz the chocolates melt down and the dough puffs up quite a bit! Really good and everyone loved them. thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
This recipe is one of my all-time favourites! Very impressive flavour and great depth. I usually roll out the dough until it is about the size of a large pizza, then cut it with a pizza cutter into eight equal portions. Sometimes I add sprinkle garlic powder and parsley over the layer of butter before I roll them into shape. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONKEYJADE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Thank you I have been looking for a Crescent recipe and I have found it they were very good and soft, I will make them again,again. Terry137
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bucket of cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I think this recipe is more like a 4.5. Took longer to rise than the recipe called for, about 2 hours rather than 1. I also think they could be just a little sweeter, maybe 1/2 cup of sugar instead of 1/3. To make them flaky I rolled out the dough then spread with butter, folded in half, spread with butter and folded again, then rolled out the dough and repeated the process once more time. I made 16 rolls from this recipe and they were still quite large. Overall they were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Loved them.. I actually needed store bought crescent rolls for another recipe (Cream Cheese Squares by Ann on allrecipes.com) and didn't have any on hand. When I realized I had all the ingredients on hand for homemade ones I thought I would make them from scratch. I couldn't believe how much better my recipe came out with homemade crescents compared to store bought ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allegan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
This recipe was yummy and easy. I doubled the recipe and got 24 crescents. I also added mini smoked saugages to it and were a big hit for my kids. Great recipe! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
These are a decent roll. Not too heavy. I usually substitute 1/2-1 cup whole wheat flour for the AP flour. I use some extra butter including spreading melted butter on the triangles as I roll and kneading in some extra butter into the dough. Still, I wouldn't call these buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
These were alright, but they're not anything like the crescents you'll get from the canned dough at the grocery store. These just don't have that typical light, airy flakiness that crescents usually have. I don't see how these are any different than dinner roll dough rolled into a crescent shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
An instant family favorite, and actually easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
These were awesome! I brushed the circles with melted butter before I cut them into wedges and brushed them with butter instead of egg before baking. I also made 24 rolls instead of 12 and they ended up being about the same size as the refrigerated kind you buy. They were still excellent the next day after being popped in the microwave for about 7 seconds. I'll be making these all the time. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

How to Cut-in Butter

Cut butter into flour to create flaky layers in pie crust and biscuits.

Bacon Pancakes with Maple-Peanut Butter Sauce

Bacon is built right into these pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States