Butter Crescents Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
This recipe was yummy and easy. I doubled the recipe and got 24 crescents. I also added mini smoked saugages to it and were a big hit for my kids. Great recipe! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
These are a decent roll. Not too heavy. I usually substitute 1/2-1 cup whole wheat flour for the AP flour. I use some extra butter including spreading melted butter on the triangles as I roll and kneading in some extra butter into the dough. Still, I wouldn't call these buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
These were alright, but they're not anything like the crescents you'll get from the canned dough at the grocery store. These just don't have that typical light, airy flakiness that crescents usually have. I don't see how these are any different than dinner roll dough rolled into a crescent shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
An instant family favorite, and actually easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
These were awesome! I brushed the circles with melted butter before I cut them into wedges and brushed them with butter instead of egg before baking. I also made 24 rolls instead of 12 and they ended up being about the same size as the refrigerated kind you buy. They were still excellent the next day after being popped in the microwave for about 7 seconds. I'll be making these all the time. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
These are great! I used 2 cups whole wheat flour (1 cup Bob's Red Mill, one cup King Arthur White Whole Wheat) and added a little vital wheat gluten. I had to leave home, so it rose about 1 hour, 30-40 minutes the first rise, which was fine. I made 16 large rolls- it just made more sense to cut each circle into 8 instead of 6 triangles. The directions on this recipe were clear and easy to follow. It produced beautiful, light, yummy rolls. I brushed a tiny bit of butter on the rolls as they came out of the oven (omitted the egg wash). Yummy recipe- try it with some whole wheat flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
While I loved the texture and denseness of these rolls, my hub and kids were disappointed with the lack of flavor...we're all used to eating Pan de Sal rolls or King's Hawaiian bread though so maybe I'll try again just adding some sugar to the mix. Like all homemade bread recipes, these are a bit of work, a real labor or love!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina b

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Valley, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
WONDERFUL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
You can't go wrong with these rolls. They are fantastic and a Thanksgiving family must have!! I suggest bumping the salt to at least 1 1/4 t.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelseyville, California, USA
Living In: Seymour, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
These are a FAMILY FAVE!!! My husbands family and my family love these! The only thing I do differently is I don't cook them for the full amount of time.I take them out before they are golden but they are still firm.And immediately after taking them out, I brush melted butter over them.If I make an Italian meal, I brush melted butter and crush garlic over them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

How to Cut-in Butter

Cut butter into flour to create flaky layers in pie crust and biscuits.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States