Butter Crescents Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Good recipe-a little time consuming, especially for a novice bread maker like me, but the results are worth it. I have made these rolls several times, the only time I had a problem was when I made them on a rainy day. The dough did not rise properly, but they still tasted great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
i've had the same problem as mizliss, so next time i'll try them at 350. They do taste good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
Worked GREAT! I even used cheap flour (the kind in a 25# cloth bag) and old yeast - yet it rose just like it should and made roles that 3 days later are still soft enough to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
These are really good! I usually don't do well with yeast breads but I have made these twice and they came out great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Yum Yum!! Made minor changes like melting the butter with the milk and instead of using an egg to brush the tops, I used butter. Based on other reviews I slit my dough 3 ways to make alot of little rolls, but to no avail. They seemed to just keep on growing. :-) But a great recipe and one where I had no leftovers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
very nice flavor, easy to make (for a bread) stays soft for quite while after baked. For some reason, the dough didn't rise like should have, but I don't think it was the recipe's fault :) Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
Excellent! I made the dough in my bread machine on dough cycle. The recipes does make more rolls than stated, unless you like ENORMOUS rolls. I did have trouble with the rolls getting too dark on the bottom before the tops browned, baking them at 350 helped. These are delicious,everyone in my picky family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
Wonderful rolls & so easy to make! Made them for Thanksgiving & they were a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
These are super crescent rolls! I was a bit worried about sugar being in the recipe, but it adds just a hint of sweetness, and they're still great with savory flavors, like gravy. They have a rich, buttery taste and a light texture. I've used the dough as a topping for casseroles and pot pies, and it works great. It puffs up in the oven more than you'd expect. You can also roll them up with bacon and cheese or tiny sausages before baking them and have a great snack. The time spent on these is worth it! (And it always seems to take my dough a little longer to rise than the recipe states.) Thank you so much for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
Outstanding! I used bread flour rather than all-purpose and probably added an additional 1 c. of flour in the kneading process. The first rising time was about 2 hrs. Definately will make about 24 crescents rather than the 12 the recipe yields. Making 12 makes HUGE rolls! Did not brush the rolls with anything before baking and they were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

How to Cut-in Butter

Cut butter into flour to create flaky layers in pie crust and biscuits.

Bacon Pancakes with Maple-Peanut Butter Sauce

Bacon is built right into these pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States