Butter Crescents Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
These seemed like a dinner roll you'd get at a steak house. Way better then the refrigerated/ canned crescent rolls. I made 3 batches of these for Thanksgiving. All my guest said they were great. Recipe definately makes more than 1 dozen, unless you want really big rolls. These are just as good w/out the egg brushed on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
Fabulous! For those that want more of a buttery taste: spread softened butter on dough round before cutting into wedges. My 9 year old son loved helping make these. We made 24 medium sized rolls from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I let the bread machine mix the dough, then took it manually from there. This is the best roll recipe I have ever tried. Great job! I did however, brush the rolls with butter rather than eggs, and also rolled out to the thickness of a pie crust and cut into about 16 rolls per round. They were the hit of the Thanksgiving diner this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
I made the dough in the bread machine (yeast went in dry on top of the flour). I made these into 18-20 simple round rolls instead of shaping them into crescents... what can I say, I'm a lazy cook. They turned out very good. The texture was super light and buttery- they almost melted in your mouth. This texture would have been perfect for crescent rolls, since I like my round rolls to be slightly more firm (so I can butter them with out squashing them flat). Next time I will take the time to make crescents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
These turned out light and fluffy. There is not a very strong buttery flavor, but these cresents aren't bland. One thing to note--you could make a whole lot more than 12 cresents with this recipe. I'd recommend cutting the dough circles into at least 8 pieces each instead of 6. If you do just 6, the rolls turn out HUGE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
My first crescents from scratch and they turned out lovely. Soft and flakey and enjoyed by everyone. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
I have always had a hard time with rolls. These turned out to be the best, my family loves them. They are all I make.Thanks for saving me from frozen rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stansbury Park, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
not like pilsbury but these taste great. thought they'd be a little more buttery in taste but they're actually like sweet rolls. and they're really soft! I put ham/sliced hot dogs, cream cheese and chopped jalapeno peppers in some of them and OH MY GOD that was some good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
I'm a newcomer to making bread however I felt that this recipe did not live up to expectations that I received as a result of reading the reviews. I was expecting more along the lines of a croissant, I was sadly misled and disappointed. The rolls themselves were too floury in my opinion, I would not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMERALDSEYE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skaneateles, New York, USA
Living In: Belton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2003
These did not turn out as light and buttery as I expected. Don't think I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

How to Cut-in Butter

Cut butter into flour to create flaky layers in pie crust and biscuits.

Bacon Pancakes with Maple-Peanut Butter Sauce

Bacon is built right into these pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States