Butter Crescents Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
These seemed like a dinner roll you'd get at a steak house. Way better then the refrigerated/ canned crescent rolls. I made 3 batches of these for Thanksgiving. All my guest said they were great. Recipe definately makes more than 1 dozen, unless you want really big rolls. These are just as good w/out the egg brushed on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
Fabulous! For those that want more of a buttery taste: spread softened butter on dough round before cutting into wedges. My 9 year old son loved helping make these. We made 24 medium sized rolls from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I let the bread machine mix the dough, then took it manually from there. This is the best roll recipe I have ever tried. Great job! I did however, brush the rolls with butter rather than eggs, and also rolled out to the thickness of a pie crust and cut into about 16 rolls per round. They were the hit of the Thanksgiving diner this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
I made the dough in the bread machine (yeast went in dry on top of the flour). I made these into 18-20 simple round rolls instead of shaping them into crescents... what can I say, I'm a lazy cook. They turned out very good. The texture was super light and buttery- they almost melted in your mouth. This texture would have been perfect for crescent rolls, since I like my round rolls to be slightly more firm (so I can butter them with out squashing them flat). Next time I will take the time to make crescents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
These turned out light and fluffy. There is not a very strong buttery flavor, but these cresents aren't bland. One thing to note--you could make a whole lot more than 12 cresents with this recipe. I'd recommend cutting the dough circles into at least 8 pieces each instead of 6. If you do just 6, the rolls turn out HUGE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
My first crescents from scratch and they turned out lovely. Soft and flakey and enjoyed by everyone. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
I have always had a hard time with rolls. These turned out to be the best, my family loves them. They are all I make.Thanks for saving me from frozen rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stansbury Park, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
not like pilsbury but these taste great. thought they'd be a little more buttery in taste but they're actually like sweet rolls. and they're really soft! I put ham/sliced hot dogs, cream cheese and chopped jalapeno peppers in some of them and OH MY GOD that was some good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
I'm a newcomer to making bread however I felt that this recipe did not live up to expectations that I received as a result of reading the reviews. I was expecting more along the lines of a croissant, I was sadly misled and disappointed. The rolls themselves were too floury in my opinion, I would not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMERALDSEYE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skaneateles, New York, USA
Living In: Belton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2003
These did not turn out as light and buttery as I expected. Don't think I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

How to Cut-in Butter

Cut butter into flour to create flaky layers in pie crust and biscuits.

Bacon Pancakes with Maple-Peanut Butter Sauce

Bacon is built right into these pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States