Butter Crescents Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
Yumm, When I rolled it out I made it a little thicker to create fatter rolls. These were delicious. I would also highly recommend serving with honey butter. I will definatly make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSCHALK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
These are a nice "dinner roll". Those expecting to end up with croissants or even Pillsbury flaky crescents are going to be sadly disappointed though. Croissants take a LOT of labor, rolling, spreading cold butter, folding, chilling and repeating several times to get layers of dough and butter which create the buttery, flaky layers. That said, I would never go to the work of making my own croissant dough, but these are easy and very tasty and something I'll make when I want a nice roll. SO much better than the frozen dough... I have better luck with bread from scratch, my frozen rolls NEVER rise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
These were amazing, I've recently fallen in love with cooking and I find a lot of recipes from this website. All the ones I have tried have been great, but this one was incredible. They were easy to make (i've never made rolls before) and they tasted DELICIOUS. I made them for a party and everyone raved about them. I definitely suggest this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
I have been searching for the supreme roll recipe. This one has a delicious flavor, nice appearance, good texture...but it just doesn't have the heavenly, airy, 'light-as-a-feather' quality I am looking for. I know it is possible because once I had some rolls that were so light that I vowed to find the recipe! I think it might have been a potato-based dough so I'll keep searching. But, this one IS yummy, but more like the usual homemade bread rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
Nice Recipe! doubled the salt,sub buttermilk and brushed with the egg white only. will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DL Martin

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
This is very nice. Definitely make it again. I divided the dough into triangle shaped sections, but i figured that it would be better to roll it with a rolling pin cos when we roll up the crescents, it is too thick. They are gonna be left to rise for another 30 mins in the last stage so no worries for it to be not soft inside when baked. It worked for me and i get better shaped crescents like this. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
I made these with a roasted chicken dinner, and my family said that I should make these everyday! haha!! they ate them all up, nothing was left... these are very good... oh and I used Hi-gluten flour, used my kitchen aid to do the kneading... added more salt, and made a honey butter (mixed honey with a stick of butter, rolled in plastic wrap, set in fridge.) I have a new family favorite... 10 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
these were great! i got rid of the sugar and added more salt! these were so great!!it made about 18 crescents! me and my brother finished a dozen off as a midnight snack1! these were great! thanks for the recipe!! will def make these rather than buying the pilsbury crescent dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
Good - just shy of great. Not quite worth 5 stars. But, very easy which I appreciate. If you want a far star crescent roll & have some make ahead time and 2 potatos try Colleen's Potato Crescent Rolls on this site. Otherwise, this is a good second choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
These rolls were soft and had a great taste, but I found them a little heavy. I took another reviewer's advice and used only the egg white to brush the top, and they came out very nicely browned. I will make them again, but next time I think I will knead the dough more to see if that helps with the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

How to Cut-in Butter

Cut butter into flour to create flaky layers in pie crust and biscuits.

Bacon Pancakes with Maple-Peanut Butter Sauce

Bacon is built right into these pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States