Butter Crescents Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
I have made this recipe several times and have passed it on to family and friends. I scaled the recipe to triple the yeild and I always cut it into 8 wedges(this gives me 4 dozen). They still come up large and are so good they never last. We have taken them to group functions and there are never any leftovers. My family also likes to slice them in 1/2 to use as a hot dog bun. I froze some once after they were shaped, when It came time to use them we just let them thaw and rise. They were good but not as good as when you use the dough fresh. I also do not brush with egg. Instead I brush with melted butter just before and just after they are in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
These rolls were fantastic!! I let my breadmaker to the work and just rolled and baked. I served these for Christmas dinner and everyone raved about them. I hadn't found a dinner roll recipe that I really cared for, but now I have. They were even good the next day. Make these rolls, you won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
These rolls were excellent and the dough was a delight to work with! I did increase the salt to 1 t. and think I would go w/ 1.5 teaspoons next time. However, they tasted like my regular yeast roll recipe (but definitely better!), and not too much like crescent rolls. I had refrigerated crescents the night before I made these so they were fresh in my mind. The flakiness wasn't there, although they were incredibly soft. I baked at 375 degrees for 12 minutes and they were perfect! I will keep looking for a crescent recipe, but these did get great raves from the family and will replace my favorite yeast roll recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
These seemed like a dinner roll you'd get at a steak house. Way better then the refrigerated/ canned crescent rolls. I made 3 batches of these for Thanksgiving. All my guest said they were great. Recipe definately makes more than 1 dozen, unless you want really big rolls. These are just as good w/out the egg brushed on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
Fabulous! For those that want more of a buttery taste: spread softened butter on dough round before cutting into wedges. My 9 year old son loved helping make these. We made 24 medium sized rolls from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I let the bread machine mix the dough, then took it manually from there. This is the best roll recipe I have ever tried. Great job! I did however, brush the rolls with butter rather than eggs, and also rolled out to the thickness of a pie crust and cut into about 16 rolls per round. They were the hit of the Thanksgiving diner this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
I made the dough in the bread machine (yeast went in dry on top of the flour). I made these into 18-20 simple round rolls instead of shaping them into crescents... what can I say, I'm a lazy cook. They turned out very good. The texture was super light and buttery- they almost melted in your mouth. This texture would have been perfect for crescent rolls, since I like my round rolls to be slightly more firm (so I can butter them with out squashing them flat). Next time I will take the time to make crescents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
These turned out light and fluffy. There is not a very strong buttery flavor, but these cresents aren't bland. One thing to note--you could make a whole lot more than 12 cresents with this recipe. I'd recommend cutting the dough circles into at least 8 pieces each instead of 6. If you do just 6, the rolls turn out HUGE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
My first crescents from scratch and they turned out lovely. Soft and flakey and enjoyed by everyone. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
I have always had a hard time with rolls. These turned out to be the best, my family loves them. They are all I make.Thanks for saving me from frozen rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stansbury Park, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

How to Cut-in Butter

Cut butter into flour to create flaky layers in pie crust and biscuits.

Bacon Pancakes with Maple-Peanut Butter Sauce

Bacon is built right into these pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States