Butter Crescents Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
Just like those yummy restaurant rolls! These rolls are pretty big, too, so I sometimes cut my circles into 8 wedges to make 16 smaller rolls instead of 12 big ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
Decisions ... decisions; between this and Golden Crescent Rolls* as they are both so similar, I had a time of it trying to choose, lol. Ok, used this recipe and followed only #3 instruction from the other (GCR*). Doubled batch and got about 40 rolls (huge if 12 only per recipe); larger circles of dough and cut smaller wedges. Tried baking them in jumbo-sized muffin pan (12 cups - stand the ready crescent rolls on one end in and push it down from the other end) and they looked like cinnamon rolls. I also buttered the rounds before crescent-ing them and again, hot out the oven. Now, that's butter crescents, lol. Also tried making (halal) sausage rolls and that worked too. Soft, tasty, (don't skimp on the salt unless using salted butter) and oh so bakery-pretty. Very versatile and wonderful dough, love it. Thanks Rita. Thanks reviewers (esp. the tip about the oven's temp). Hope this is helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sereneblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
The best cresent rolls!!!! Better than my granny's! I used my bread machine to make the dough. Super easy and super tasty. Thank you so much for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
These were pretty good. I actually liked them a lot better the next day or thawed from the freezer. Right out of the oven I thought they tasted too yeasty. The consistency is very nice though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
I used this recipe instead of buying the crescent rolls in the store. Instead of rolling them out, I used them to fit in a 9X13 inch pan, so I could make a recipe similair to cream cheese danish. The nice thing about this is that there are no seams in which you have to seal. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
Delicious! My family loves them, in fact, I'm making some right now! I use 1/3 cup honey in place of the granulated sugar and brush with milk instead of egg whites, and they turn out perfect every time! Thanks Rita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
Awesome. Really glad I made them and will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZMUM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
I have made this recipe several times and have passed it on to family and friends. I scaled the recipe to triple the yeild and I always cut it into 8 wedges(this gives me 4 dozen). They still come up large and are so good they never last. We have taken them to group functions and there are never any leftovers. My family also likes to slice them in 1/2 to use as a hot dog bun. I froze some once after they were shaped, when It came time to use them we just let them thaw and rise. They were good but not as good as when you use the dough fresh. I also do not brush with egg. Instead I brush with melted butter just before and just after they are in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
These rolls were fantastic!! I let my breadmaker to the work and just rolled and baked. I served these for Christmas dinner and everyone raved about them. I hadn't found a dinner roll recipe that I really cared for, but now I have. They were even good the next day. Make these rolls, you won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
These rolls were excellent and the dough was a delight to work with! I did increase the salt to 1 t. and think I would go w/ 1.5 teaspoons next time. However, they tasted like my regular yeast roll recipe (but definitely better!), and not too much like crescent rolls. I had refrigerated crescents the night before I made these so they were fresh in my mind. The flakiness wasn't there, although they were incredibly soft. I baked at 375 degrees for 12 minutes and they were perfect! I will keep looking for a crescent recipe, but these did get great raves from the family and will replace my favorite yeast roll recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

How to Cut-in Butter

Cut butter into flour to create flaky layers in pie crust and biscuits.

Bacon Pancakes with Maple-Peanut Butter Sauce

Bacon is built right into these pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States