Butter Crescents Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 3, 2004
These rolls were soft and had a great taste, but I found them a little heavy. I took another reviewer's advice and used only the egg white to brush the top, and they came out very nicely browned. I will make them again, but next time I think I will knead the dough more to see if that helps with the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
Awesome, awesome, awesome!! My family could not stop eating these. Good thing I doubled the recipe!! My only recommendation is to use only the egg white, not the whole egg, for coating the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
these were great. I ran out of white flour half way through and used whole wheat flour for the rest, and they were still awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
These rolls are easy to make and came out just beautiful... but they taste a little blah. Next time I'll double the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
Just like those yummy restaurant rolls! These rolls are pretty big, too, so I sometimes cut my circles into 8 wedges to make 16 smaller rolls instead of 12 big ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
Decisions ... decisions; between this and Golden Crescent Rolls* as they are both so similar, I had a time of it trying to choose, lol. Ok, used this recipe and followed only #3 instruction from the other (GCR*). Doubled batch and got about 40 rolls (huge if 12 only per recipe); larger circles of dough and cut smaller wedges. Tried baking them in jumbo-sized muffin pan (12 cups - stand the ready crescent rolls on one end in and push it down from the other end) and they looked like cinnamon rolls. I also buttered the rounds before crescent-ing them and again, hot out the oven. Now, that's butter crescents, lol. Also tried making (halal) sausage rolls and that worked too. Soft, tasty, (don't skimp on the salt unless using salted butter) and oh so bakery-pretty. Very versatile and wonderful dough, love it. Thanks Rita. Thanks reviewers (esp. the tip about the oven's temp). Hope this is helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sereneblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
The best cresent rolls!!!! Better than my granny's! I used my bread machine to make the dough. Super easy and super tasty. Thank you so much for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
These were pretty good. I actually liked them a lot better the next day or thawed from the freezer. Right out of the oven I thought they tasted too yeasty. The consistency is very nice though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
I used this recipe instead of buying the crescent rolls in the store. Instead of rolling them out, I used them to fit in a 9X13 inch pan, so I could make a recipe similair to cream cheese danish. The nice thing about this is that there are no seams in which you have to seal. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
Delicious! My family loves them, in fact, I'm making some right now! I use 1/3 cup honey in place of the granulated sugar and brush with milk instead of egg whites, and they turn out perfect every time! Thanks Rita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

How to Cut-in Butter

Cut butter into flour to create flaky layers in pie crust and biscuits.

Bacon Pancakes with Maple-Peanut Butter Sauce

Bacon is built right into these pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States