Butter Cream Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This is by far the best frosting I have ever had! I made it with butter and butter flavor Crisco and I used whole milk for a more creamy frosting. I have never had so many compliments and it's so simple to make. It's so versatile that I made a double batch and used part to frost a cake and then we frosted sugar cookies. I do recommend making sure that you are beating it long enough so as to eliminate lumps of any kind and if your powdered sugar is lumpy, I would sift it before adding to the mixture. All and all- a most excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
I made the chocolate version that someone posted in their review, replaced one cup confectioner's sugar with one cup cocoa and increased milk 1/4 cup. It tastes awesome and the texture is great! I worked at a bakery for 2 years and this is just like the frosting there, I am going to frost a cake tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This is a simple but perfect, creamy, easily spreadable frosting that is dependable and just plain good. And it pipes well for decorations too! I just used a tad less sugar than called for, and used half and half rather than milk, which were not major alterations. Great frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
This recipe is EASY and it's good. It needs NOTHING else. It makes a light, fluffy frosting that's perfect for icing a cake and for doing the decorations. It doesn't run down the side of the cake, or melt. It isn't sickly sweet. It doesn't taste too heavy. It's easy to work with, using a spatula or an icing sleave. It gets 5 stars from me, and those 5 stars are VERY well earned! This recipe is a keeper. THANK YOU KRIS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
I know that a lot of reviews wrote that this tasted just like the kind they use in the stores. Somehow, though, I thought they meant the kind a bakery would use! That was NOT the case!! In fact it was the kind that a supermarket would use. You should use this if and only if you like the cakes sold in supermarkets. It wasn't necessarily that this frosting was bad it was just not what I had hoped for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
This is amazing. Even Ruth Levy Beranbaum's "The Cake Bible" doesn't contain a frosting that rivals this recipe (I use her book as a guide for my cakes). Kris, you are a saint! I've searched and created many a frosting and this one you posted is the most brilliant. What I love most about this frosting is its versitality. I use butter instead of marg, and I only use 3.5 cups of powdered sugar since my people don't like it too sweet. You can drip in more milk to create a fluffy effect or reduce the milk to make a thicker version. Thank you, Kris for posting a frosting that is a perfect compliment to cake. You have changed the face of frosting in my household. I was just about to give up on frosting all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
When made with butter instead of margarine, this recipe gets 5 stars. Wow! The taste and texture are fabulous. And yes, this really does taste like the kind of frosting on bakery cakes. One hint. If you have some, add about 1/2 to 1 teaspoon of butter extract. Purists might argue against it, but if you're looking for "bakery" taste, the butter extract will take it a step closer. Also, I found that this recipe worked best with my KitchenAid. I whipped the frosting for about 5 minutes. Without the KitchenAid, I might not have had the patience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
Yesterday I made a birthday cake for my sister and this is by far the best frosting I've tried. I substituted butter instead of margarine,added 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla butter & nut flavorings and added 1 Tablespoon of lemon juice ( add according to taste) to mask the sweetness. And whipped the frosting with my KitchenAid for about 5 to 7 minutes. Perfect for frosting and decorating Cakes. Thanks Kris for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2003
This recipe was great but I just had one problem b/c of the humidity the icing kept melting every 5 minutes. I used 4 oz. of cream cheese as a stablizer but it really did not help any. Any ideas that can help me I am new at the decorating?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2003
Great frosting! Smooth, easy to use for decorating. I did not find it too sweet at all. I used butter instead of margarine for flavor. I used it to decorate my hubby's Birthday cake and he raved! Will definately use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 535) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States