Butter Cream Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Wow so easy!!! Taste great and easy to work with. I did how ever use butter instead of margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Great recipe. Used this to ice a Halloween cake. Creamed unsalted butter and Crisco for 5 minutes with KitchenAid. Would be hard to cream with a lesser machine I think. Used 4 cups sugar, 1/2 tsp almond extract, and 1 tsp vanilla. The humidity in the house did not seem to impact the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I used butter instead. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Great recipe, smooth and nice consistency. Only change I made was a little more liquid AND subbed imitation vanilla butter and nut flavoring for the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
thick and creamy - sweet and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I thought this was pretty good - use it in a pinch if you don't have butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I used butter instead of margerine. This turned out a fabulous buttercream that spread beautifully on my 9x13 yellow cake. No complaints here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This frosting tastes good and was easy to make. The only problem I found is that 1/4 cup of milk was not nearly enough for me, and 5 cups of powdered sugar was too much. It started getting crumbly as I was putting the third cup of sugar in. I ended up using 1/2 cup of milk and 4 cups of sugar. It was spreadable, but still too thick. I managed to get my crumb coating done, but then had to add another tablespoon of milk to my remaining icing to get it to ice properly. HOWEVER, with that said, this is the best any frosting has come out for me. That's why I'm giving it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inverness, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I have used this recipe for years. Awesome! I dont understand how people buy canned frosting when this is so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Just make sure to beat it really well! I didn't actually have 5 whole cups of confectioner's sugar, it was more like 4 3/4 cups! :D But it tastes awesome! My dad loved it! I put it on sugar cookies and they are very tasty if I do say so myself. I definitely recommend! (Oh and I actually used 1/2 cup of butter and 1/2 cup of shortening and a touch of butter flavoring. And we only have skim milk so that's what I used.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States