Butter Cream Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Stephanie
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Delicious! I added half of the vanilla called for & the other half almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What's for dinner, mom?
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Needed a basic and simple frosting - this was perfect. I followed the measurements but used what I had on hand such as I used real butter, high ratio shortening (highly recommend it!) and buttermilk. I did not need the full 5 cups of confection sugar. I added a full 1/4 tsp (maybe more) of salt to balance the sweetness. I blended my butter while very cold adding in alternate amounts of sugar and buttermilk. Once the butter was well combined I added the high ratio shortening and whipped it until light and fluffy. I added the remainder of the buttermilk and enough sugar so that I had stiff peaks forming. I chilled the frosting for 30 minutes and placed in a piping bag. This step made for very easy piping and the designs had great detail showing. I chilled the decorated cupcakes and the frosting crusted nicely. The frosting was not overly sweet as I did not use all the sugar, added more salt and used buttermilk. Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
A little disappointed...Not thick enough for what i wanted. And it just tasted okay. Next time i will look for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Very good and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Great recipe! Very simple and turns out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
This is very tasty and easy to make. The only problem i have is the fact that I live in the state of Florida where it is VERY hot and humid so bringing this to an outside event means DISASTER!! next time i will cut back on the milk by half
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
This is the first time I have made any type of frosting, and it turned out perfectly for my son's bday cake. I used butter instead of margarine, and 1 tsp vanilla extract, 1/2 tsp almond extract. I also sifted the sugar. I made this the night before I decorated my son's cake, put it in the fridge overnight, and was then able to use it after about 20 minutes in room air with a pastry bag and tip (first time ever decorating a cake as well!). The frosting worked very well, held its shape, and tasted great, per everyone's review at the bday party! I would highly recommend this recipe and will be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
*KEPENATE* I read your review I will agree that if you did the recipe as wrote, it might taste like super market icing but I happen to like it when I have it, since it's only maybe twice a year. The recipe is a excellent one but as a cook, you sometimes need to add your own flare to things. What you like, may not be what the recipe giver likes so to each his own so make it your own. I added heavy whipping cream at the end because I found the icing too heavy for me so the whipping cream made it much lighter and I also added lemon flavor instead of vanilla and some lemon zest. I'm adding this icing to a carrot cake that I added pineapples in the batter the cake is hit . I love this recipe this is my first time making butter cream frosting thank you for my NOW recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gimmymore

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inkster, Michigan, USA
Living In: Romulus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Great tasting frosting. Easy to make. Kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
wow,can't get much better or easier than this.tastes even better the next day.makes alot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 537) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States