Butter Cream Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by kitty
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Oh wow this is so creamy and so good!!! I used whipping cream and 4 cups of powdered sugar :-) Yummy!!!! Super sweet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by megthekiwi
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I made this icing for my son's first birthday cake. For the icing itself, I used butter instead of margarine. Also, I ended up not using as much confectioner's sugar - maybe about 4 and 1/4 cups instead of 5. I would recommend just working with the amount of sugar and milk until you get the consistency you want. I made this to ice the "Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake" recipe here on allrecipes. I got lots of compliments on the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I was looking for a frosting recipe without actual butter because I was out. This one is light and fluffy and still creamy. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I thought this frosting was pretty good. Didn't make any changes. Good standard butter cream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This frosting was fantastic! I used it for a dozen cupcakes for my sons birthday party (I used a generous amount on each cupcake and there was still plenty of icing left over). Everyone raved over it! I did make a few alterations though. I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup butter flavored shortening. I used a little more vanilla (about 2 tsp) and much less powdered sugar (about 3 cups). I also used about 1/3 cup heavy whipping cream in place of the milk. I beat it really well until it was nice and smooth and fluffy. I made it the day before I made the cupcakes and refrigerated it overnight in a container then let it sit out until it was close to room temperature before icing the cupcakes. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Great frosting. Finally found the right thickness i wanted for a frosting. Tastes great! I only recommend you whip the butter (not margarine) and shortening together first at room temperature. Gradually add the sugar. Then add the salt and vanilla. Once its all incoperated together i add the milk gradually to get the right consistancy i want. It was perfect. Now im on a sugar high!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina_Papou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
It had a weird flavor that was due solely to the shortening. I do want to try again. Next time I will use exclusively butter. It's not implausible that my crisco was simply old. With that said, the consistency was odd enough that I don't think the flavor from the crisco was the only issue. Real butter whipped well should provide the consistency most would be looking for in a buttercream frosting. I also think the addition of salt is fantastic. Last but not least, 5 cups of powdered sugar is outrageous. I followed other commenters and used 3.5 cups and it was PLENTY sweet. All told, I can't give this even 3 stars even though I do think its a good starting point. I know I can make a decent buttercream - I just haven't yet....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This is the best buttercream frosting I tasted very,very good easy to make, made one change used real butter turned out great! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
This frosting is awesome! Used butter flavored shortening and real butter instead of margarine. I was coloring it so wasn't worried about using regular mexican vanilla...yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This is by far the greatest icing recipe I have ever seen!!! SOOOO Good, I followed the recipe exactly and the icing turned out thick and sweet and simply perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 538) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States