Butter Cream Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
great icing to work with, halved the recipe and turned out great...great for piping, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Success! After several failed attempts, this recipe yielded a nice light, fluffy frosting that spread easily... and didn't taste "crunchy" from the powdered sugar. I used my Kitchenaid for the heavy work in this recipe. I let the margarine and shortening cream for a few minutes, then added part of the sugar. When that was mixed, I added the vanilla, salt, and milk, then the rest of the sugar. I added in a few drops of food coloring (which distributed well- not streaky or grainy). I let the whole thing mix on a medium speed until it was nice and smooth. It doesn't taste *exactlly* like bakery frosting, but it's the best I've ever made! It made enough to generously frost a 9x13 cake.. with plenty left for bowl-licking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I was really hoping this would be "the one" but unfortunately it wasn't. I followed the recipe to a T using butter flavored shortening. After I mixed it all together to taste it tasted like powdered sugar and milk.. nothing else.. had to 'butter' taste to it. It makes a good base for cream cheese frosting.. I ended up adding in a brick of cream cheese to frost my sons' bday cake. Course now I got alot leftover.. but that's ok. I'll use it for something. I'm going to stick with my cream cheese recipe until I find "the one" as this was not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Let me start off with I am not a Butter Cream fan. However, with the ratings and the comments of it being the BEST ever I thought I would try. Followed the recipe exactly. Will go back to my favorite.....Cream Cheese Frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARLIES29

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Love this frosting! I doubt I will ever use "just another" butter frosting! (I used butter and shortening.) Thanks so much for the recipe Kris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda McAnulty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This was a great and easy... my boyfriend liked it and he HATES frosting. I added a little more salt to contrast with the sweetness and used a parchment tube to decorate a cooled cake. It was firm but it did help to chill it after decorating. I also used butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
So delicious! I made this frosting chocolate by adding an extra 1/4 cup milk (I used almond milk) and substituted a cup of confectioners' sugar for cocoa powder. Very, very good! :9
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by User

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Make it with butter instead of Margarine and shortening. I also like to add a dab of cream cheese.. Absolutely perfect frosting EVERYONE loves this frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Very good recipe. I was able to make a small batch of this frosting by hand and it tasted great. I used a few Lemon drops in aswell. Great texture not too sticky or too droopy better than the instore bakaries if you ask me much more authintic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
yummy!! My kids love this frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by still-learning

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 121-130 (of 554) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States