Butter Cream Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Very good frosting! Might add a bit more milk because it was a bit dry and I had a tough time getting the sprinkles to stick. I also used real butter in place of the margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Excellent! Super creamy with a very real taste! doesn't taste too sweet or fake. I also subbed in butter and cut the sugar a tad because I ran out Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momzie418
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
All I can say is WOW!!! soo yummy!! I used real butter and it is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
THIS TASTED EXACTLY LIKE THE VANILLA FROSTING IN THE PLASTIC CONTAINERS, next to the cake mixes in the store. At least now I know exactly how they make it. I scaled the recipe way back and I was trying out different butter cream frostings to practice piping and wanted a variety. The only change I made was using heavy cream for the milk because that is what I had out. That wouldn't change the taste just the texture a bit. But, I may be uncommon, but I do not like the store shelf frostings at all. If you are looking for a quick sub for store tub frosting, for cupcakes or something similar, you may like this! It does however look like it will pipe fine for cupcakes, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
The best butter cream frosting!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRolfe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Just made this and it is VERY good and super easy!! I'll definitely use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
great icing to work with, halved the recipe and turned out great...great for piping, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Success! After several failed attempts, this recipe yielded a nice light, fluffy frosting that spread easily... and didn't taste "crunchy" from the powdered sugar. I used my Kitchenaid for the heavy work in this recipe. I let the margarine and shortening cream for a few minutes, then added part of the sugar. When that was mixed, I added the vanilla, salt, and milk, then the rest of the sugar. I added in a few drops of food coloring (which distributed well- not streaky or grainy). I let the whole thing mix on a medium speed until it was nice and smooth. It doesn't taste *exactlly* like bakery frosting, but it's the best I've ever made! It made enough to generously frost a 9x13 cake.. with plenty left for bowl-licking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I was really hoping this would be "the one" but unfortunately it wasn't. I followed the recipe to a T using butter flavored shortening. After I mixed it all together to taste it tasted like powdered sugar and milk.. nothing else.. had to 'butter' taste to it. It makes a good base for cream cheese frosting.. I ended up adding in a brick of cream cheese to frost my sons' bday cake. Course now I got alot leftover.. but that's ok. I'll use it for something. I'm going to stick with my cream cheese recipe until I find "the one" as this was not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Let me start off with I am not a Butter Cream fan. However, with the ratings and the comments of it being the BEST ever I thought I would try. Followed the recipe exactly. Will go back to my favorite.....Cream Cheese Frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARLIES29

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 111-120 (of 550) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States