Butter Cream Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
The best butter cream frosting!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRolfe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Just made this and it is VERY good and super easy!! I'll definitely use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
great icing to work with, halved the recipe and turned out great...great for piping, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Success! After several failed attempts, this recipe yielded a nice light, fluffy frosting that spread easily... and didn't taste "crunchy" from the powdered sugar. I used my Kitchenaid for the heavy work in this recipe. I let the margarine and shortening cream for a few minutes, then added part of the sugar. When that was mixed, I added the vanilla, salt, and milk, then the rest of the sugar. I added in a few drops of food coloring (which distributed well- not streaky or grainy). I let the whole thing mix on a medium speed until it was nice and smooth. It doesn't taste *exactlly* like bakery frosting, but it's the best I've ever made! It made enough to generously frost a 9x13 cake.. with plenty left for bowl-licking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I was really hoping this would be "the one" but unfortunately it wasn't. I followed the recipe to a T using butter flavored shortening. After I mixed it all together to taste it tasted like powdered sugar and milk.. nothing else.. had to 'butter' taste to it. It makes a good base for cream cheese frosting.. I ended up adding in a brick of cream cheese to frost my sons' bday cake. Course now I got alot leftover.. but that's ok. I'll use it for something. I'm going to stick with my cream cheese recipe until I find "the one" as this was not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Let me start off with I am not a Butter Cream fan. However, with the ratings and the comments of it being the BEST ever I thought I would try. Followed the recipe exactly. Will go back to my favorite.....Cream Cheese Frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARLIES29

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Love this frosting! I doubt I will ever use "just another" butter frosting! (I used butter and shortening.) Thanks so much for the recipe Kris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMCANULTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This was a great and easy... my boyfriend liked it and he HATES frosting. I added a little more salt to contrast with the sweetness and used a parchment tube to decorate a cooled cake. It was firm but it did help to chill it after decorating. I also used butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
So delicious! I made this frosting chocolate by adding an extra 1/4 cup milk (I used almond milk) and substituted a cup of confectioners' sugar for cocoa powder. Very, very good! :9
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylbri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Make it with butter instead of Margarine and shortening. I also like to add a dab of cream cheese.. Absolutely perfect frosting EVERYONE loves this frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States