Butter Cream Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I thought this was pretty good - use it in a pinch if you don't have butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I used butter instead of margerine. This turned out a fabulous buttercream that spread beautifully on my 9x13 yellow cake. No complaints here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This frosting tastes good and was easy to make. The only problem I found is that 1/4 cup of milk was not nearly enough for me, and 5 cups of powdered sugar was too much. It started getting crumbly as I was putting the third cup of sugar in. I ended up using 1/2 cup of milk and 4 cups of sugar. It was spreadable, but still too thick. I managed to get my crumb coating done, but then had to add another tablespoon of milk to my remaining icing to get it to ice properly. HOWEVER, with that said, this is the best any frosting has come out for me. That's why I'm giving it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inverness, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I have used this recipe for years. Awesome! I dont understand how people buy canned frosting when this is so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Just make sure to beat it really well! I didn't actually have 5 whole cups of confectioner's sugar, it was more like 4 3/4 cups! :D But it tastes awesome! My dad loved it! I put it on sugar cookies and they are very tasty if I do say so myself. I definitely recommend! (Oh and I actually used 1/2 cup of butter and 1/2 cup of shortening and a touch of butter flavoring. And we only have skim milk so that's what I used.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I've been testing frostings this week and this one wasn't our favorite. Good side- it was fluffy,creamy, and easy spread. For a medium consistency on cupcakes, use less milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
it was awesome even better than store bought frosting, only thing it was yellow and not white but it made the cake taste so good, thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prospect, Saint James, Barbados
Living In: Wardland, Saint Michael, Barbados

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This frosting is AWESOME!! Light and Fluffy! I used the butter flavored shortening and butter like another review suggested. This is my go-to frosting from now on!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This recipe worked well for me. I didn't have any milk so I two tablespoons (for 12 servings) of Goya creme of coconut, which I thinned out with a tablespoon of water. I also used butter instead of margarine. It came out nice and creamy with a nice mild coconut flavor, which was a great compliment to my chocolate pineapple cake. Definitely added to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Auntie Rah Rah Carter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I made this for my kids this week and the all love it, as did I. I covered a chocolate cake with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rpinfred

Displaying results 101-110 (of 551) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States