Butter Cream Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
This frosting is AWESOME. It is rich and creamy and very tasty. I might suggest that people had problems with it being runny etc. because they did not beat it long enough in the mixer. Mine was creamy and fluffy and I beat it on high for at least 3 mins. (I also used whipping/heavy cream instead of milk.) Try this! Excellent on dark chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Smooth and velvety frosting, made extra rich and creamy from the egg yolk and lengthy mixing time. My only caution is that if you need a pure white frosting this may not be to your liking--in that case egg whites could easily be substituted with an equally good result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2004
This is to DIE for--It really does taste like bakery cake frosting. I ate it right out of the bowl and some didn't even make it to the cake! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNYBECCA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Good tasting very much like the bakeres. I just don't like the two raw egg yolks in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
This frosting was the absolute best I have ever used. I make and decorate a lot of birthday cakes and the consistency was perfect for the types of designs I make. Loved the taste too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Campbell, New York, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This is a thick creamy frosting. I beat mine on high for 3 min to make it a bit fluffier. For a rich chocolate version of this frosting I substituted 1/4 cup of sugar for cocoa powder. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This was so good! Really creamy, and lots of flavor. I used it on plain white cupcakes, and they were delicious. I could have eaten it by the spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vaness1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Very good frosting, my only issue is that the yolks make it a yellowish color when finished, not a pretty white like a real butter cream. The taste and texture are wonderful however. I might try whites next time or a whole egg instead of yolks to see if the color is lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
This was a very good recipe. I frosted a white cake with it and everyone loved the frosting. I tinted it green for St. Patrick's Day. I was wondering though if the frosting needed to be refrigerated since it had the egg yolks in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
It was good. I didn't have to add milk. It didn't frost that well, the icing slid off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States