Butter Cream Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Ive done this recipe alot, you need more vanilla & sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieeFalardeau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This frosting was so good! I don't like frosting, but this was perfect. For me, though, it was a little sticky/dry, so I added just a tad bit more milk which not only toned down the sweetness a little, because it tasted way too much like pure sugar, but it made it less sticky and easier to spread. I totally recommend this frosting, it was excellent, and everyone, whether or not they like frosting, enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
For whiter icing add the SMALLEST amount of purple food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Wow this is pretty good! I started making it and then went to grab the milk....it had started to sour and I didn't have any fresh stuff on hand. I decided to use it anyways. It doesn't appear to have made a difference, it's still very yummy! I used my Kitchen Aid Mixer and mixed it for quite a while until the consistency was just right. At the beginning I was quite concerned as it was quite dry/crumbly with just the butter/sugar mixture. Adding the vanilla, milk and egg softened it up just the right amount!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WAFFELZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This was VERY good. My icing always turns out to runny, but this was PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This was so good! Really creamy, and lots of flavor. I used it on plain white cupcakes, and they were delicious. I could have eaten it by the spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vaness1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Very yummy!! I wanted it chocolate so I added 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder. Its very tasty. Easy to make. It wil be a standard frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This is pretty good, but a bit too sweet. I'll add 1C less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Yummy, doesn't make that much...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This was a hit. The only suggestion I have would be to taste it before you add the 4th cup of sugar, it gets pretty sweet. It's weird some people say it was runny. I mixed mine by hand with a freakin fork and it was still creamy and deliscious...I hope they only used the egg yolk and not the whole egg. Also, make the butter room tempreature when you measure and use it- do not melt it completely in a microwave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States