Butter Cream Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I just made this frosting and I'm very disappointed. It tastes just like a plain old powdered sugar frosting that my grandmother used to make for graham crackers. What is the use of the egg yolks when all you need is powdered sugar and milk to get the same result. I'll never make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Natalie
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
LOVE the taste, LOVE the texture! This was perfect for cupcakes! Thanks for a wonderful recipe that I've already added to my cookbook!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
this was very good!!! I forgot to refridgerate the cake afterwards and had to throw it out, since it has raw eggs. The cake was a hit! I think a lot had to do with the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eydie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This frosting was thick, velvety, and delicious. The recipe made enough to frost a 9" double layer cake with a little leftover. Will certainly use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This frosting is fantastic! I was pleased with the texture and thickness I achieved. I was 1C short on powdered sugar, but 3 c was plenty. Its very sweet. I did use 1 whole egg vs the 2 yolks. Other than those changes, I followed the recipe exactly. Thanks for a great frosting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Sgts Wifey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medical Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
still not what i was looking for. it was a little sweet, and turned out heavy, even after adding additional milk. I beat it in the KA for a good 10 min and still didn't fluff up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pnutmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I give this a 1 for the taste, it was pretty good. However, it was a mess. I was making it to frost my husband's homemade ice cream cake. After mixing for 10 minutes, I figured it wasn't going to get hard. I added 2 additional cups of sugar and 3 tablespoons of flour. It still was not hard enough to frost. I figured that since the cake had been in the freezer for 2 days, maybe it will stay on when I get it back in the freezer,I came back 10 minutes later and it was all over my freezer. However you look at this, it was a diaster!!!Never again will I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Shirah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
So I've made this twice now. The first time I accidently used something that wasn't all butter and it came out real runny but that was my fault. This time I used real unsalted butter and whipping cream instead of milk cuz its what I had and it turned out fabulous! its not white, so if you're looking for a real white buttercream this isn't it. But its perfect for coloring we dyed it purple and it was great. Thanks for the easy & delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Cheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This frosting is delicious! I tried it yesterday for my son't birthday cake and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I'm honestly not an icing person, but I literally can't stop licking the bowl! It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States