Butter Cream Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I always use store bought frosting, NEVER AGAIN! This was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I whipped up the butter and salt only to realize that I only had 2 1/2 cups powdered sugar (that other bag was shredded coconut. . .yikes!). I didn't make any other adjustments other than not adding the milk and the recipe worked out just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I doubled the recipe and needed 3 more cups of sugar, so I ended up using 2 cups brown sugar and 1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder. It was great! C: I'm definitely using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This frosting was awesome. Some of the most delicious frosting I've ever made. For me, I thought that 4 cups of the confectioners sugar seemed to make the icing a little dry. I used about 3 cups, and also added in an extra teaspoon of milk. I warmed all of the milk before adding it, because it seemed to help as well, and make it easier to mix in. For an extra twist for the cupcakes I was making, I tinted the icing green with just four drops of neon green food dye, and I also added in 1.5 teaspoons of peppermint extract. The result was the best icing I've ever tasted. Much better than the store-bought type! I managed to beat the eggs into the frosting smoothly and then add in the milk that restored a whiter colour, so that the icing didn't turn yellowish, and ended up off-white, which is definitely better than yellow frosting! Another things is to make sure that you beat the frosting well, so that it turns out light and fluffy. To me it seemed that the consistency was a little off, and after about 2 minutes of beating, it was perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chefster
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I don't know how or why you'd need to improve on this frosting. I slathered it on a home made chocolate cake this morning and WOW... so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Way, way too sweet. I stopped adding sugar at 3 cups and it was still too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caradae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I followed the directions just as is, being very careful because I didn't want to mess it up and was really hoping for the best. Unfortunatley, I was very disappointed. Did not taste like butter cream at all! I will continue looking for a good butter cream frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Four cups of sugar was toooo much. I ended up creaming the rest of my butter afterward (about 1.5 cups) and mixing in about 2/3 a cup of the original icing I made. (I then proceeded to throw the rest away...) It tasted much better but needs to be refrigerated or else it gets a bit too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheGatewoods
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
THE BEST!!! I have been testing several butter cream frosting over the past several days, was reluctant to try this because of the raw eggs, but caved out of desperation. So glad I did!! The taste and texture is amazing!!! I made another batch for a detailed character drawing in which I added almond extract and much more milk - again, wonderful. You will NOT be disappointed with this frosting - I promise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheGatewoods

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Ive done this recipe alot, you need more vanilla & sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieeFalardeau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States