Butter Cream Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This is a thick creamy frosting. I beat mine on high for 3 min to make it a bit fluffier. For a rich chocolate version of this frosting I substituted 1/4 cup of sugar for cocoa powder. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I loved this frosting! I used heavy cream instead of the milk and beat one whole egg before adding to the mix. I was sure to beat the mixture for abt 3 minutes as LESLEYCAN suggested. I frosted cupcakes with this an my husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Birdie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
it was ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I made this frosting to put on top of another AllRecipes recipe (One-two-three-four cake II) It tasted really, really good. Almost like a professional wedding cake! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I thought the recipe was very good, the family definately loved it, however, I thought it had a little bit too much of a vanilla/confectioners taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
It's ok. As others stated it was not that thick even after beating it on high speed with the mixer. It is also VERY sweet. Even more so than bakery icing. I was expecting a creamier not as sweet icing. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This recipe was easy enough for my Husband to make it and it turned out really well! It's a pretty sweet frosting so it worked well with the not-so-sweet cake that it was put on. We had adjusted the flavoring to 3/4 tsp vanilla and 1/2 tsp almond extracts so as to coincide with the flavor of the cake that was made. This frosting and the 'Heavenly White Cake' (http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Heavenly-White-Cake/Detail.aspx Submitted by Carol) were a hit at my birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Very good frosting, my only issue is that the yolks make it a yellowish color when finished, not a pretty white like a real butter cream. The taste and texture are wonderful however. I might try whites next time or a whole egg instead of yolks to see if the color is lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
This.Frosting.Is. THE BEST!! OMG!! I ate it right out of the bowl and none of it reached my sugar cookies. I had to make more and my family agrees that this is to die for:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bogota, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Berlin, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Good tasting very much like the bakeres. I just don't like the two raw egg yolks in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States