Butter Cream Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I accidentally put more vanilla in so i had to add more butter to get rid of the powdered sugar taste im letting it sit over night until im going to put it on my cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
If you like really sweet frosting, you will like this one. I don't think its good for decorating a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
This was the direction that I wanted to go. Like grandmothers. But FOUR cups of sugar? I ran out with two and that was too many. As Laura said, I literally bit down on powdered sugar. I'll keep it in the recipe box but do 3x the vanilla, 1/2 to one cup of sugar and go from there. Maybe some sour cream or cream cheese. New to baking but loving it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
O my gosh!! This is SO GOOD!!! My family and our friends loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaddyMadDog13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
One word. Well 2 words. Amazingly delicious!! It's so good! I didn't use enough powdered sugar, so it was more of a glaze, but it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Came out too runny when I followed suggestions to increase the vanilla and icing sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I liked this frosting, the taste was pretty good I added strawberry exctract and it was awesome. The only thing I didn't like was using raw eggs in it and I probably wouldn't add as much powdered sugar next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
excellent recipe. I did take the advice of other raters and took my time mixing and preparing the frosting. I let my cupcakes cool while I made this. Perfect amount of time too. I subbed the milk with butter milk, and needed to add a bit more milk because of it but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlliMasaki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Excellent fronsting. Smooth and creamy, just as frosting should be. I used one whole egg, beat very well before adding in and a little half & half rather than milk, although milk would do just fine. The trick with this frosting as with any buttercream is be very careful adding the liquids, and don't try mixing by hand. Use an electric mixer for the right consistency and spreadability. Oh, I also added a touch of coffee flavor. Three heaping teaspoons instant to one tablespoon hot water, and let it cool in the fridge before using. With this frosting you can use just about any flavoring you want, just remember to decrease your milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
it worked yay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penguin2776

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States