Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I made these cookies tonight just for fun and my kids and I gobbled them up! They are a beautiful, perfect butter cookie; not too sweet but rich and they work perfectly in a press. They were so yummy, I didn't even bother making the icing - we ate half of them before I could get that far, ha ha. Some tips: leave them to cool slightly on the tray before you remove them because they are a little soft, but not too long or they will become brittle and break. Also, the dough became soft the longer it sat out, and I had a harder time getting the shapes to form on the sheet. Might want to refrigerate the dough in between batches. This will be my butter cookie recipe from now on - can't wait to make then at Christmas! I promise I will ice and decorate them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I made this tonight, it was GREAT! Tastes great and simple to make. I didn't make the frosting, but it was perfect the way it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Loved them. I was looking for a simple butter cookie and these did not disappoint. I didn't frost them & found them sweet enough. My 10 year old daughter devoured them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I increased the sugar to one cup and added a cup of very finely chopped walnuts. Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWARGA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Very good cookies, however I should caution you not to let your soon to be 15 yr old put them on the pan then in the oven. They turned out the size of biscuits! 1 cookie will do ya in this case
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
everyone loves them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I made these without the frosting,Instead I put a Hersheys Kiss in the middle shortly after the cookies cooled but were still warm. Everyone LOVED them! I even had to make a batch for my Mother inlaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shell
Home Town: Farwell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Unfortunately these were not great at all. The cookies have no taste. Even though I added extra sugar. And the icing I 1/2 all the ingredients as someone said it makes a LOT of icing - and the icing tastes powdery. Felt sick after eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I let the butter soften for 3 hrs and the batter turned out crumbly. I ended up adding 1/4 c milk and turning them into thumbprint cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smileyclover85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colfax, Washington, USA
Living In: East Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I just got done making these butter cookies with the frosting for my cousin's grad. party tomorrow and they came out so so so good!!!! what I did differently is I added 1 cup of sugar instead of 3/4 cups and I also added 1/2 teaspoon of pure almond extract for flavoring and for the frosting recipe I cut the whole recipe in half and added 1/2 teaspoon of pure almond extract and the icing was really really sweet so I added some more butter to taste to tone down the sweetness and it was still a little too sweet so I added more butter to it and it came out creamy and buttery but still alittle sweet, but overall I give this recipe 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States