Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I made these cookies tonight just for fun and my kids and I gobbled them up! They are a beautiful, perfect butter cookie; not too sweet but rich and they work perfectly in a press. They were so yummy, I didn't even bother making the icing - we ate half of them before I could get that far, ha ha. Some tips: leave them to cool slightly on the tray before you remove them because they are a little soft, but not too long or they will become brittle and break. Also, the dough became soft the longer it sat out, and I had a harder time getting the shapes to form on the sheet. Might want to refrigerate the dough in between batches. This will be my butter cookie recipe from now on - can't wait to make then at Christmas! I promise I will ice and decorate them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I made this tonight, it was GREAT! Tastes great and simple to make. I didn't make the frosting, but it was perfect the way it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Loved them. I was looking for a simple butter cookie and these did not disappoint. I didn't frost them & found them sweet enough. My 10 year old daughter devoured them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I increased the sugar to one cup and added a cup of very finely chopped walnuts. Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWARGA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Very good cookies, however I should caution you not to let your soon to be 15 yr old put them on the pan then in the oven. They turned out the size of biscuits! 1 cookie will do ya in this case
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
everyone loves them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I made these without the frosting,Instead I put a Hersheys Kiss in the middle shortly after the cookies cooled but were still warm. Everyone LOVED them! I even had to make a batch for my Mother inlaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shell
Home Town: Farwell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Unfortunately these were not great at all. The cookies have no taste. Even though I added extra sugar. And the icing I 1/2 all the ingredients as someone said it makes a LOT of icing - and the icing tastes powdery. Felt sick after eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I let the butter soften for 3 hrs and the batter turned out crumbly. I ended up adding 1/4 c milk and turning them into thumbprint cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smileyclover85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colfax, Washington, USA
Living In: East Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I just got done making these butter cookies with the frosting for my cousin's grad. party tomorrow and they came out so so so good!!!! what I did differently is I added 1 cup of sugar instead of 3/4 cups and I also added 1/2 teaspoon of pure almond extract for flavoring and for the frosting recipe I cut the whole recipe in half and added 1/2 teaspoon of pure almond extract and the icing was really really sweet so I added some more butter to taste to tone down the sweetness and it was still a little too sweet so I added more butter to it and it came out creamy and buttery but still alittle sweet, but overall I give this recipe 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States