Butter Cookies V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
I just tried this recipe out. The cookies came out so good and buttery. Delicious! The cookies actually taste like the butter cookies that come in the danish blue tin at the gerocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
I made these delightful cookies for Christmas and have been baking them ever since! My family and friends love these cookies and have standing orders in - thankfully, they are easy to make! I roll my logs in colored sugar for a little extra sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
This is a very easy cookie to make. My family loved them. I did add hazelnuts to the top of some and M & M's to the top of some. Great cookie for Santa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
This is a good recipe to use up extra egg yolks. I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening, but I think I'll try using all butter next time because simple recipes require the best ingredients. Initially I had some trouble slicing the slightly thawed logs that have been frozen. However, the dough became less crumbly and sliced nicely after it thawed out a bit more. I sprinkled some colored sugar sprinkles on top of each unbaked cookie to make them more attractive. All in all, these were good cookies, and I will use the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This recipe is better than the cookies in the blue tin from the grocery store! They are so easy and taste great! I froze them over night and cut them with a bread knife while frozen. It worked great! Roll them in colored sugar for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
I made these cookies one night after work for a sweet bite to eat and fell in love with them! They are very simple to make and SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Precisely what I was looking for. Excellent party cookie when rolled in multi colored sprinkles. To tint, add food coloring to butter mixture, it's hard to complete once the flour is added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
These cookies are GREAT, I love butter shortbread cookies and these were the closest to it. There were easy to make, put away the cookie presser. This is my #1 Butter Cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
These were a wonderful cookie! I rolled one log in colored sprinkles and they were gobbled up. Two logs are in the freezer now. I like the convenience of taking them out, slicing, and popping them in the oven. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMA37

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This is an awesome butter cookie recipe. I found it to have just a bit too much flour for mixing though, perhaps an 1/8 to 1/4 cup too much. Anyway, a variation could be to add 1/4 to 1/2 cup chopped nuts, an old neighbor of mine did this and they were wonderful too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States