Butter Cookies V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Ok, first off, my dough was crumbly!! It is suppose to be crumbly because we are making cookies people, not cake!!! So i rolled the dough in wax paper into a log and immediately cut into it, no refrigeration needed. I also had to turn my oven up to 400' degrees and cook the cookies for 20-25 minutes, or until the edges turned brown. My cookies were not soft and chewy but actually crunchy like school cookies. I dipped a fork in water then in sugar and pressed down onto the cookies to make indentations and leave the sugar on the unbaked cookies. The were A-O-K!!! I try and test every recipe that is in my recipe book on allrecipes.com and this one gets a B in my book, only because if you aren't a baker or at least a little familiar with baking then you can def mess this recipe up. Overall, AWESOME recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I really liked these cookies! I was looking for an easy way to make butter cookies at home -- wanted a recipe with a handful of ingredients you usually have on hand. This is it. And they tasted plenty buttery to me! With a pound of butter, how could they not? I also bought colored sprinkles to give them some color. Mine didn't turn out round though. The roll flattens on the bottom when they sit in the refrigerator. Doesn't affect the taste of course. I mainly make them for my mother (who's alway looking for something sweet and doesn't care if the cookie has a funny shape). The last batch I made, I put the roll (didn't make a full batch) in the freezer and they were ready to cut and bake a lot sooner. I'm going to see if I can find a way to keep the logs from flattening and then try to keep from flattening the log as I cut the cookies. Like others have said -- a keeper. I even put the list of ingredients in my phone so, while I'm at the store, I know whether I have to pick up an ingredient I'm out of. If a cake that takes a pound of butter is a pound cake, then this must be a recipe for Pound Cookies! Call them what you want, they're great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
OH MY GOSH!!! I have tried several different butter cookie recipes before, and let me tell ya what...I WILL NEVER USE A DIFFERENT ONE AGAIN!!! I did not change a thing. My only suggestion is, make sure you keep your butter stock filled. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This is the best butter cookie recipe! I made them for Christmas and they disappeared quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
this was an easy dough to work with through a cookie press with no need to chill. I did have to add more vanilla and also added a bit of butter extract in order to add to the flavor. This is not a sweet cookie so colored sugar is a nice addition without being overwhelmingly sweet. I did some with 2 clicks of the press per cookie and some with 1 click. I preferred the flavor of those that were a slightly browner color around the edges; it gave them a more buttery flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Kelly is right they are much much better than store bought butter cookies....Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I made these cookies with 2 cups of special medicine butter. It was very strong medicine. These cookies are so very delicious. They have an excellent texture like they came from the mall. Everyone should eat these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
For years, I have said the only thing that could those butter cookies in the tin better, was if they were softer. I have FINALLY found exactly that!! These turned out amazing. Followed the recipe to a T, they sliced perfectly (after being rolled in wax paper and refrigerated, as directed), kept their shape, and they taste great!! Reviewers keep in mind, if you're looking for the exact same thing you find in the tin, you'll probably be disappointed. They are much softer, with a bit of a lighter flavor, but still wonderful! Definitely a keeper, thanks so much for helping me finally find what I've been looking for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmStan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I had a blast using this holiday cookie recipe this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I looked around and tried a couple of different butter cookie recipes, most of them tasted like a sugar cookie except this one. This was the best butter cookie recipe I have ever tasted. When I opened the oven they smelled just like the cookies in the blue tin. When my husband tasted them he said "you found it"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States