Butter Cookies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by luv2bakecookies
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
I'm one serious baker. I bake all the time and only use the finest, freshest ingredients available. In search of a butterfly cookie lollipop recipe, I came across this. It was the very cookie I had been looking for. It's sturdy enough, did not spread and the vanilla I used came thru wonderfully. The Lollipops look beautiful and will be used for my daughter's tea party. Made again 12/21/06- This is truly a no fail recipe. I would refer to this more as a cut out cookie. It's super sturdy. Made them for my daughters cookie decorating party. This is by far the easiest cookie I have ever made. If your making them as simply just a butter cookie, I suggest using chocolate, jam, confectioner sugar or sprinkles to enhance the cookie. Or even bake them with that coarse sugar.4/17/08 What can I say, used the recipe again! This is the most reliable recipe I have. I used it this time as a cheesecake crust. I wanted to make something easy and will bring them to my daughters class today. Ro, thank you so much for sharing. Anyone who gave this recipe a bad rating must have done something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2bakecookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
Well, this sounded like a good idea when I made it. The cookies, however, turned out somewhat bland and floury tasting. I will say that the dough was easy to work with and made very nice looking cookies. I ended up dipping them in chocolate and various toppings -coconut, walnut, candy sprinkles, and crushed candy cane, which helped the taste a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Great Recipe but I made a couple additions of my own. I added a tsp of cinnamon & 1 tsp of almond extract. I also topped these cookies with the Pink Valentine's Frosting. With these additions they were *amazing* - you couldn't eat just one :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eve
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This is a great recipe. Cooks nicely. Does not PUFF like sugar cookies. To make gingerbread cutouts ( nobody here actually likes gingerbread but me) I knead cocoa powder into part of the dough to get that gingerbread color. (cinnamon would work too)They turned out perfect. I will use this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
Perfect! My daughter's teacher asked me to bring 3 dozen heart-shaped cookies for Valentine's day for the kids to decorate. I wanted a cookie that would stand up to the frosting and sprinkles and this recipe was ideal. The taste was very nice -- just sweet enough. I will definitely make them again. Thanks to Ro for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2001
These cookies tasted very bland and were extremly dry. Even after sprinkling them with icing sugar, they still tasted bad. Nearly the entire batch went into the trash because nobody in my family would eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
In search of a butter cookie recipe for my honey who LOVES them, this recipe takes the cake! The dough was easy to work with and the end product was a delicious butter cookie that tasted store bought! Thanks for sharing, you made our day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
These butter cookies turned out absolutely fab! I decorated them with pecan nuts and sprinkles aswell as leaving some plain. Try dipping them in melted chocolate and letting them set!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kiwi Klockdoctor
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
This is a great recipe for the novice. First one I tried off this site (or ANY site for that matter) and it worked like a champ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiwi Klockdoctor

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wanaque, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Excellent butter cookie recipe! I used the Sugar Cookie frosting from this site for the frosting and the cookies were a hit. I made these for a Christmas cookie swap and topped with crushed candy canes. I will make these again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States