Butter Cookies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I saw this being advertised as a recipe for cut-out cookies. Absolutely NOT! This dough tastes great, but it doesn't keep it's form when baking. They positively melt in the oven. So my advice - keep to drop cookies or circular cut-outs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
The taste of these cookies is good, but it is by far the worst recipe to use cookie cutters with. The dough stuck to everything, the shapes from the cutters fell apart even when I used flour on the rolling pin and on the wax paper I used to roll the dough. I finally dropped them in spoonfuls on the cookie sheet, flattened them with a cup dipped in flour, and used color sprinkles on top. My daughter loved the taste but didn't get to have fun using cookie cutters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Excellent butter cookie recipe! I used the Sugar Cookie frosting from this site for the frosting and the cookies were a hit. I made these for a Christmas cookie swap and topped with crushed candy canes. I will make these again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Ordinary but reliable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
These butter cookies turned out absolutely fab! I decorated them with pecan nuts and sprinkles aswell as leaving some plain. Try dipping them in melted chocolate and letting them set!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
These cookies are so soft and delicious. They are not too sweet which is a perfect compliment to the sugary Royal Icing that makes them so beautiful. The people who rated them as bad clearly must of made errors if their cookies turned out dry. They are anything but dry if they are cooked properly. Everybody I make these for LOVES
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eve
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This is a great recipe. Cooks nicely. Does not PUFF like sugar cookies. To make gingerbread cutouts ( nobody here actually likes gingerbread but me) I knead cocoa powder into part of the dough to get that gingerbread color. (cinnamon would work too)They turned out perfect. I will use this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Great Recipe but I made a couple additions of my own. I added a tsp of cinnamon & 1 tsp of almond extract. I also topped these cookies with the Pink Valentine's Frosting. With these additions they were *amazing* - you couldn't eat just one :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kiwi Klockdoctor
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
This is a great recipe for the novice. First one I tried off this site (or ANY site for that matter) and it worked like a champ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiwi Klockdoctor

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wanaque, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
Perfect! My daughter's teacher asked me to bring 3 dozen heart-shaped cookies for Valentine's day for the kids to decorate. I wanted a cookie that would stand up to the frosting and sprinkles and this recipe was ideal. The taste was very nice -- just sweet enough. I will definitely make them again. Thanks to Ro for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States