Butter Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
These are delicious and not too sweet like most press cookie recipes! (WIN!) But I've made them twice and still cant get them to come out of the press properly, i.e. they just keep clinging to the press. Although to be fair, I am using my mother's old press which you actually have to twist yourself, and it is not as technologically advanced as those newfangled contraptions and needs a firmer dough to separate from the press. Oh well. The VERY ugly cookies taste delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I lived in Chicago Ill. from 1966 to 1970 I can remember the smell of butter cookies baking in the mornings, my best memories of 1st thru 3rd grade. When I first made cookies with this recipe I was not impress... something was missing, so I decided to try it again with a teaspoon of baking powder. Yessss... that is it baking powder was the missing ingredient. 2 stick of butter not margerine. hope that helps... enjoy:-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Magic

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Uh, no. This tasted more like sugar cookies, but it was more hard. It didn't at all taste like butter cookies. The cookie itself was decent, but I wouldn't want to eat it every day. It wasn't great, it wasn't horrible, it was mediocre. It tasted like a plain old cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
very easy recipe. my oven runs hot so i baked at 375 for 10 minutes. i doubled the recipe and made 4 dzn cookies that were pretty good in size. they came out nice and soft. i will definately be making these to fill christmas tins this year! i followed the recipe to a T and did not alter it in any way. a nice airy type of cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dna.09

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I made it exactly how the recipe said to make it. It had no flavor, and was a big dissapointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Loved these butter cookies - I ended up needing to add quite a bit of flour when rolling out. They were great Christmas cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelaMarie-HOU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I was scared to put in THAT much flour, but when I did, the texture was great! I am defenetly a beginer cook, but this recipe was extremely easy. I recommend it, but it IS quite buttery, as you well know. Happy cooking!;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Tripled the recipe and chilled overnight (not recommended). Used a powdered sugar/milk combination for frosting and decorated. Some of the yummiest cookies ever. The frosting made them extra sweet and they were beautiful for all types of Christmas deocrations. However, we tripled the recipe and got about 3 dozen cookies. We rolled out the dough and used Christmas cookie cutter shapes, so cookies were larger. Honestly, we are not dessert or cookie people, and these were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Very tasty, but with one change: When I made this recipe, I noticed that my cookie dough was too stiff to send through my cookie press, so I added an extra egg and it easily solved the problem for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPINK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Thought they were great! They did taste like danish tin cokies after they cool. I didn't cool first, sprayed the pans, and just made little balls and flattened slighty. I sprinkled some of the tops with sugar and that made them even better! Good stuff;0
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States