Butter Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Be careful, these are addicting. I made them in a cookie press and they taste just like the butter cookies in the tin. Dangerous. And they taste even better 3 days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Didn't hold their shape very well but tasted good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I added 1 teaspoon of baking powder in thinking it won't rise without baking powder. My cookies tasted buttery and not So sweet...delicious!..crispy and buttery..I also wanted to be creative --- I wanted to make jelly filled cookies, but thought their recipes would yield flavorless cookies(and that the only thing good would be the jam). I tried putting a dollop of jam in the center of these cookies to make "buttery jelly filled cookies." I just pressed down in the center of the cookie making a penny sized well or so, and scooped on jam...I baked them at 350 first to see I'd they would cook, but seems like for my oven, they needed to be at 400. So I raised the temperature to 400 and baked until edges are golden brown...which should take around 10 minutes or So. The cookies don't have to be brown in color..They probably taste best at a beige color with ONLY golden EDGES. My cookies stayed white, revealing the color of the jam in the middle..soo pretty. Thank you soo much for the recipe. Those who gave this recipe 1's are people that didn't follow instructions and don't know how to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Very good! I ran out of regular flour, so 2/3 cup was whole wheat. I chilled the dough in thirds, and rolled it out for cookie cutters. Then, I sprinkled cinnamon/sugar over the cookies before baking. They needed 6 minutes at 400 degrees. SO DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: George West, Texas, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I made this as my first attempt at spritz cookies. I'm used to my great-grandmother's spritz cookies which would melt in your mouth. While these were very good, they were crisper than hers. I'll keep on the search for a recipe that tastes like hers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I adjusted this recipe to make them airier, softer, and shorten prep time. First of all I should say it doesn't say what state the butter should be in before mixing. I used butter sticks out of the freezer and used a stand mixer to cream it with the sugar. I also cut the flour used almost in half (using just a little over half) I didn't measure it perfectly just looked for the dough the be light but where it would stay together. Then I skipped the chilling stage and did 2 minutes over max cook time. Making it this way I would give them 5 stars they are slightly crisp on the outside very soft and airy in the middle and taste perfect. When cooking anything you should adjust the recipe using your perception and hoped out come to make it suited best for what you want and that is exactly what I did. Hope another cook finds this helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I love to make these with my toddler! He thinks they are great and we like them because they aren't overly sweet for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Sasha McNamara

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Taste like nothing but flour and sugar to me. The cooking temp is too high 350 degrees is just fine. I tried to doctor it up with ½ a cup more butter and more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Justice, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I just baked these cookies. They are delicious! I added a bit of cinnamon and nutmeg - a HUGE hit! I will be making these for the holidays! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Love these cookies! My 11 year old daughter wanted to make cookies, and she choose these. Added a t of almond extract, and dusted the tops with sanding sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeloo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States