Butter Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I tried this recipe and changed a few things.....I put lemon extract in the mix, and I rolled the cookies in little balls and pressed holes in them and filled them with raspberry fruit spread. It was good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tawnya Edmonds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
The taste is so average and trust me I am generally a huge fan of every recipe I have tried on here. This one is not great at all! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wethersfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandy
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Well, i found this recipe to be low on the taste scale. I will probably add just a little extra vanilla to it the next time. Maybe i should have refrigerated the dough like it suggested to. The oven was hot so i just baked them. I used my melon baller to drop the dough onto the cookie sheet and then I flattened them out by using my large meat tenderizer mallet...waffle print dow. It goes quick, is fun and makes a waffle pattern on the cookie. I then sprinkled some colored sugar on top of the cookie prior to baking. The waffle pattern was great for a resting place for the sugar. Oh, i put food coloring in the butter, sugar, egg mixture as I mixed it in the mixer. I wanted some holiday color. I found the baked cookie to be more doughy so perhaps I need to flatten them more the next time. I will play with this recipe again and read more of the reviews for tips. I love Spritz and I really wanted a quicker way to make them vs using the press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
I'm an '80s baby. When I was in kindergarten, 36 years ago, in Memphis, we had the BEST butter cookies at school. This recipe, minus the egg, comes REALLY close. If you want the butter cookies that crumble in your hands as you eat them, leave out the egg. If you want a chewy cookie, add the egg. Other that that, GREAT RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
OMG! Best cookie ever. I was looking in my pantry for couple ingredients and there it was, honey, the real honey, so I put into the butter a tbs of it, the best cookie I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
From the reviews I expected the Christmas tin style buttery cookies. What I got was ok, but was not sweet at all, very weak butter taste, and nowhere near the flavor I can get in the tins. These were more like what we used to call "tea biscuits". The wife loved them and insists I make them again, but MY search for a good butter cookie continues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ross

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Fantastic recipe just the way it is! I am starting a Wilton Method of Cake Decorating class and Lesson 1 asks us to bring 6 plain flat cookies with a smooth top surface (e.g. sugar or butter cookie). I "googled" and found this recipe....it is perfect. I followed the ingredient list and method exactly. These are delicious, buttery and perfectly smooth for decorating. Hints: Preheat your oven for 1/2 hour. Roll out dough or slice to a scant 1/4". Do a test cookie as all ovens and cookie sheets bake differently. Watch closely and remove from oven when slightly browned around edges. Mine took 7 minutes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I thought this recipe was great. It delivered exactly what I wanted: plain, butter cookies. I rolled up the dough out and used a cookie cutter. It does help to chill them for a few minutes before baking. I also added a healthy coating of cinnamon sugar on top to add a little something extra. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I'm giving it a 5. Simple ingredients and seems like lots of reviewers love it. I'll do it now; and follow the instructions. The (negative) reviews are confusing and not helpful at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This was not at all what I expected. I was looking for a slightly sweeter butter cookie. They were dry and not so sweet at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States