Butter Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This recipe was delicious! I had a great recipe for butter cookies from my mother and I lost it. I haven't found a recipe that comes close to her recipe, until now. My husband and kids can't get enough of these. Thank you so much for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
perfect christmas cookies. 1 batch i sub'd cocoa for 2/3c of the flour & made great chocolate ones. i recommend pressing dough w/spatula b4 putting into press & chill after on cookie sheet abt 10 min. GREAT COOKIES! my kids loved & it took me back to my childhood!! THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Not at all what I expected, I'm from Chicago and I was really looking for those rich, finger printed, lunch room cookies! so if any one has that recipie please share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
564 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
These cookies were great! I received a new cookie press for my birthday and this was the first recipe I tried. I also did not have to chill the dough in order to press it. I sprinkled it with sugar, and yum! I also recommend having 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp almond extract, or just use all almond for a little different taste! Even the next day, the few that survived were delicious. Thank you for this great cookie recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
This recipe is simple and easy. I added a bag of toffee bits for added sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
I made these and they were a great hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
I wasn't very impressed with these cookies. I divided the dough in half and added 3/4 tbsp vanilla extract to one batch and 3/4 tbsp lemon extract to the other batch. Despite using more than the called-for amount of extract, both batches of the cookies didn't have much taste (especially the vanilla). The texture was dry even though I only cooked it for 8 minutes at 400F. One batch I chilled for an hour and it was way too stiff to get through the cookie press, and the other batch I chilled for fifteen minutes and it kept breaking upon coming out of the cookie press, so it wouldn't work either way (I ended up making drop cookies). The cookies were edible but I wouldn't give them away as presents. I'm going to try adding a glaze (as suggested by some of the other reviewers) and hopefully that will improve these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I made these wonderful cookies for a cookie exchange, everyone thought they were great!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I made a double batch of these yesterday. However, I didn't use the cookie press, I just rolled them out and cut them into circles. I baked them just until they were set- no browning (I like them soft). I made a frosting out of 1 stick of margarine softened, 1 lb. powdered sugar, 1 tsp. vanilla extract, and a scant 1/4 c. milk to use on them, then decorated with colored sugars. They turned out great! My husband loved them and wouldn't even let me throw 3 or 4 cookies out that I had cut too thin and had browned! These are the best, although I don't know how much I would have liked them if I wouldn't have put icing on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Great, simple spritz butter cookies! Not too sweet, but nice and buttery. This recipe made 4 trays full, about 5 dozen cookies not including the gobs of dough my 4 year old swiped. One hint - you probably won't need to refrigerate the dough to use in a cookie press unless it's really hot in your kitchen. We used dough at room temp and the cookies came out perfect on our first try. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
343 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States