Butter Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I'm sorry but this recipe is horrible! I made it today, I did exactly what the recipe said. I got flavorless cookies. In the trash the cookie dough went!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This recipe calls for way too much flour. We ended up with a floury crumbly mess. Good to eat raw but it does not form into edible cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
The recipe is awesome. I made a double batch rolled into 3' diameter logs in wax paper and put in the fridge. Sliced and baked later. Dipped them in dark chocolate and sprinkled with sea salt crystals. Came in 2nd place at the annual Cookie exchange....great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I don't usually write a review, but I did because I was really unhappy with this recipe. I cook and bake all the time, but I didn't understand the recipe. I never read the part beside the picture (and it has never been an issue until now) and maybe that's why it didn't make sense because that's where you told us how to prepare the cookies. I found the dough was really crumbly and hard to make into a log. When the recipe said "press dough out onto ungreased cookie sheet" it sounds like you dump the dough into the cookie sheet and make a sheet which perhaps you cut later, yet it looks like you pressed it down with a fork in the picture. Or is that the cookie press, which probably would have worked better? I found the cookies not very buttery, hard and bland. :( I know it sounds like I'm stupid, but honestly I didn't find this recipe as easy as it looked and the end result was very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This is one of the best spritz/butter cookie recipes I've used. However, I did make some slight changes. I reduced my flour by a 1/4 cup, I added a 1/4 cup more butter and also used almond extract with the vanilla. Also, I found that 400 degrees F was to high even for just 8 minutes but 375 degrees F was perfect at 8 minutes....nice color and texture! I've saved this recipe and will share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anna's Retreat, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, but I didn't chill the dough, and they worked perfectly in my cookie press. These taste very much like the Danish butter cookies in the tins. We topped them with colored sugar and sprinkles before baking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This came out absolutely amazing. I am not a baker; I'm timid when it comes to tweaking recipes. After reading the reviews, I tried the following: I substituted 1/2 brown sugar, 1/2 white for the 1 cup sugar part; I only used 2 1/2 cups of flour; and I added a teaspoon of lemon extract. These are delicious. They don't need any additional sugar on top; they are light (I baked them for 8 minutes at 400 degrees). I will certainly make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABOOKL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
We have made this recipe 2 years in a row now and its wonderful! The cookies are so light and mild tasting. My son and I used the cookie press method and then dunked half of the cookie in melted semi sweet chocolate chips. They were very impressive and sooooo simple to make. If using a press there is NO need to chill the dough. If you like a sweeter cookie sprinkle them with plain white sugar and colored sugars for a more festive look!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sombraluz83
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I had to modify the recipe for allergies (eggs and dairy). I used Soy-free Earth Balance for the butter and cornstarch and water for the egg. They came out a bit soft, but to be expected with substitutions. I'll have to keep tweaking this to be able to roll them. They taste great though! Turned these into thumbprint cookies and some with sprinkles! The family loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Quick and easy they taste great and the kids loved helping....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States