Butter Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Not at all what I expected, I'm from Chicago and I was really looking for those rich, finger printed, lunch room cookies! so if any one has that recipie please share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
504 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Great, simple spritz butter cookies! Not too sweet, but nice and buttery. This recipe made 4 trays full, about 5 dozen cookies not including the gobs of dough my 4 year old swiped. One hint - you probably won't need to refrigerate the dough to use in a cookie press unless it's really hot in your kitchen. We used dough at room temp and the cookies came out perfect on our first try. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
315 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
I've tried to find a recipe close to the one made by my best friend's mother, and this definitely came the closest. I made a batch and a half, but I left out 1/2 cup of the flour. I also added 1/2 tsp of almond extract for a little extra flavor, and it was wonderful. No need to chill the dough, and since my cookie press was broken, I used a small scoop, and pressed the dough down slightly with wet fingers, which also helped the sugar and sprinkles to stick. And a 350 degree oven seemed to work just as well A wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
286 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
These cookies are FANTASTIC!!!! They taste just like the Danish Butter Cookies that come in the tins at the store. The key is to really beat the butter and sugar, then the egg and vanilla until it looks fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
This recipe was INCREDIBLE. I did not have to chill the dough. I would recommend putting a tad bit of almond or lemon extract in, to add flavor. I served them at a baby shower and received RAVE reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLCOUG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I made a double batch of these yesterday. However, I didn't use the cookie press, I just rolled them out and cut them into circles. I baked them just until they were set- no browning (I like them soft). I made a frosting out of 1 stick of margarine softened, 1 lb. powdered sugar, 1 tsp. vanilla extract, and a scant 1/4 c. milk to use on them, then decorated with colored sugars. They turned out great! My husband loved them and wouldn't even let me throw 3 or 4 cookies out that I had cut too thin and had browned! These are the best, although I don't know how much I would have liked them if I wouldn't have put icing on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
I lost my "old faithful" spritz cookie recipe, but this is every bit as good. I didn't need to chill the dough, and I removed them from the oven at the first miniscule hint of browning (my family prefers soft cookies over crisp cookies). Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
I was hoping for a Christmas tin butter cookie and these werent close, in my opinion, at all. I was highly disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This recipe was delicious! I had a great recipe for butter cookies from my mother and I lost it. I haven't found a recipe that comes close to her recipe, until now. My husband and kids can't get enough of these. Thank you so much for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
Excellent recipe!! this is the first time I have used a cookie press and it worked great. I would suggest not chilling the spritz as it worked well right after mixing. It has the taste that this kinda cookie is supposed to. It can be changed by adding whatever u like...I added a 1/4 brown sugar for the kids sweet tooth. I devided the spritz into 4 batches to try different things with...added 1 tbls butter extract to one batch and 1 tbls peppermint extract to another. The other 2 I just used different food color...Kids loved em. and so did we!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States