Butter Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I thought this recipe was great. It delivered exactly what I wanted: plain, butter cookies. I rolled up the dough out and used a cookie cutter. It does help to chill them for a few minutes before baking. I also added a healthy coating of cinnamon sugar on top to add a little something extra. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I'm giving it a 5. Simple ingredients and seems like lots of reviewers love it. I'll do it now; and follow the instructions. The (negative) reviews are confusing and not helpful at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This was not at all what I expected. I was looking for a slightly sweeter butter cookie. They were dry and not so sweet at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
note on the salt, mine became too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Not a bad recipe if you like the taste of buttery cookies but if you want to make them more moist, I'd recommend a 1/3 cup vegetable oil. (you may need to cook them for another 3-5 minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dseafus76

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
These cookies taste very good, very buttery, but I find they are somewhat too heavy. Next time, I will cut down to 2 or 2 1/4 cup flour, and see how that goes. I also find that they could use a little more sugar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Be careful, these are addicting. I made them in a cookie press and they taste just like the butter cookies in the tin. Dangerous. And they taste even better 3 days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Didn't hold their shape very well but tasted good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I added 1 teaspoon of baking powder in thinking it won't rise without baking powder. My cookies tasted buttery and not So sweet...delicious!..crispy and buttery..I also wanted to be creative --- I wanted to make jelly filled cookies, but thought their recipes would yield flavorless cookies(and that the only thing good would be the jam). I tried putting a dollop of jam in the center of these cookies to make "buttery jelly filled cookies." I just pressed down in the center of the cookie making a penny sized well or so, and scooped on jam...I baked them at 350 first to see I'd they would cook, but seems like for my oven, they needed to be at 400. So I raised the temperature to 400 and baked until edges are golden brown...which should take around 10 minutes or So. The cookies don't have to be brown in color..They probably taste best at a beige color with ONLY golden EDGES. My cookies stayed white, revealing the color of the jam in the middle..soo pretty. Thank you soo much for the recipe. Those who gave this recipe 1's are people that didn't follow instructions and don't know how to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Very good! I ran out of regular flour, so 2/3 cup was whole wheat. I chilled the dough in thirds, and rolled it out for cookie cutters. Then, I sprinkled cinnamon/sugar over the cookies before baking. They needed 6 minutes at 400 degrees. SO DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: George West, Texas, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States