Butter Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Flavor combination was very good with the spices. I added sweet potato and cauliflower like other reviews recommended, but the texture of chickpeas out of the can were a little too hard, I maybe should've cooked them longer so they were softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This was delicious, easy, and very quick to prepare! I found that the cook time was only 20 minutes rather than the 40 minutes listed. The only changes I made (which made the recipe GFCF) were to double the garlic, cut the garam masala in half to 1 tsp. (it was fairly spicy with 2 tsp.), use a can of diced tomatoes with the juice instead of condensed tomato soup, and use almond milk instead of cream. I served it over brown rice, and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This was delicious! I did add cauliflower and sweet potatoes as well as a handful of chopped spinach which made it look and taste wonderful. I also used a can of fire-roasted tomatoes and about half a can of low-fat coconut milk instead of the soup. Will make this again. My guests (family) asked if they could take the leftovers home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Instead of the soup, use one small (6 oz.) can of tomato paste. Add it to your boiled potato water. Adjust seasonings as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Perfect for our Meatless Mondays. I substituted a can of coconut milk for the milk, substituted drained diced tomatoes for the tomato soup and upped the curry powder to 1Tbl. I also added 1 Tbl. honey and garnished with cilantro. Seved with rice it makes a very substantial meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This recipe was simply amazing. I used black quinoa instead of rice, and it turned out amazing. I also used fresh instead of dry ginger, and added 2 tsp of chili flakes and Thai red curry paste. To add a little variety, I used 2 potatoes, a sweet potato and two carrots instead of the four potatoes. Amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Just finished preparing this for supper and the house smells marvellous! It tastes just wonderful as well and I followed the recipe exactly as stated. This is a definite repeat!!! Thanks for this wonderful Indian recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Loved it! Very easy vegetarian meal. Even my meat-lover husband loved it. Eat with yummy naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erina93

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I followed the recipe to a tee and this was delicious! Note: I used milk. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veron123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
While this recipe was very easy to make, I found the end result to be kind of bland. I think it could benefit from an additonal ingredient that's more flavorful than potatoes and chickpeas. Maybe peas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 61-70 (of 460) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States