Butter Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is what I've been looking for! Instead of condensed tomato soup (which I never buy), I used a cup of mild home-made salsa. I also used plain non-fat yogurt instead of milk. The result is perfectly spicy. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
My family LOVES this recipe! It's one they request when coming home from college.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Fantastic dish! I make it as it but I do add chicken so it's a full meal for my family. hubby asks for it all the time! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
SUPER easy! Great curry base that I'm looking to try with other veggies. Served over jasmine rice. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
simple and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This is one of my favorite dishes. So flavorful and different from what I usually eat. I'm so glad I was introduced to Garam Masala! It's my new favorite spice. I'm going to be making this for a potluck at work. Hope it goes over well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Amazing! This is by far my favorite curry recipe now. The first time I made it I made a few modifications based on what I had on hand and it worked out so well that now that's my standard. I substituted about 3 tbsp of tomato paste mixed into a cup of water in place of the tomato soup. I also used coconut milk instead of the cream. I think that gave the dish a little added sweetness and kept it non-dairy for my lactose intolerant husband. I've also used sweet potatoes with stellar results. Last time I made it I turned it into an entree for company by adding chicken. Delicious in every variation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I substituted a can of diced tomatoes for the tomato soup and added two chicken breasts (diced and sauteed); easy and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Great one! Now a regular in my house. I substitute 1 shredded sweet potato, added in after the spices with a lid, to partly steam it for tenderness. Even my kids love this one and I've exposed many friends and family to Indian food because of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I must admit, I mostly used this recipe for inspiration. I used butter chicken paste from Kitchens of India (which is GREAT) and omitted any extra spices, oil, the soup and the milk. I used half of a yellow onion, a whole can of chickpeas, and about 6 red potatoes cut up. DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma B

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States