Butter Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
It was ok, but the canned tomato soup turned me off. I also prefer traditional flavors which incorporate coconut milk over regular milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tenacgrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Major YUM! Loved it and most of the kids liked it too. I did half potatoes and half cauliflower and have to say the cauliflower was my favorite part! Will experiment like others with crushed tomatoes or sauce to get away from the canned tomato soup, but the recipe is great as it is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Very good. Followed peoples suggestions. I used cauliflower instead of potatoes. I also used diced tomatoes instead of tomato soup. I also added gresh ginger (instead of dried spice) and added 2 cloves of garlic. I did 1/2 hot curry and 1/2 curry. Can't wait to have the leftovers tomorrow. When the flavors can develop even more. My husband added siracha to his to really kick up the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I made this last night and I don't know what I could have done wrong as this was a super simple recipe, but I didn't think much of this. It was missing something. Maybe I should have used coconut milk in stead of regular milk. And I had to use a lot of extra milk. I don't think I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I have made this several times using cauliflower instead of sweet potatoes. I also use fire roasted tomatoes instead of the soup and light coconut milk. The whole batch costs less than $10 to make, and with a side of rice, I fed myself and 5 friends! The level of spice is just right. I'm sure it'd be great with white or sweet potatoes, but I'm trying to limit my starches. This is a cheap, quick, and healthy meal. And guess what? My husband eats it without asking where the meat is! This has become a staple for me! Thanks for sharing, and thanks to the other reviewers for suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I love chana masala and the addition of potatoes is superb. It adds more substance to the dish. Because I didn't have (and do not like) condensed tomato soup, I added about 2/3 of a 15oz can of crushed tomatoes instead. I had left over coconut milk from another dish I had made so I used that instead of the milk. Loved it. Served with white rice, naan and butter chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Very yummy =) A really good option for when I don't have a lot in the fridge, since pretty much all the ingredients are things I have in my pantry. Not too much work either - not a lot of chopping compared to most vegetarian recipes I've made! I did adjust it a bit but nothing major, would be a great recipe as written! Changes: I started by simmering the spices in oil, so they got nice and fragrant. I also added the boiled potatoes early on (before the liquid ingredients) so they disintegrated a bit and made the sauce nice and thick! In fact I had to add a bit of water afterwards to make it saucy again, oops! But I liked the texture that way. I used a bit of minced ginger instead of powdered; I subbed crushed tomatoes for the soup; and I added a touch of lemon juice, sugar, and cayenne for kick. I agree that tomato soup wouldn't be as nice as actual tomatoes. I did find I had to add extra spices, but I think that was my fault 'cause the potatoes soaked a lot up at the beginning. Tasted fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This is a great, easy recipe that both my husband and I really enjoyed tonight! I didn't have the condensed soup so instead a used a can of diced tomatoes and about half a small can of tomato paste, which added a nice tangy flavor, as one reviewer already suggested. I also used coconut milk and only had one large potato but we felt like that was enough. It's not really spicy so I added a few sprinkles of cayenne pepper for a kick. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is what I've been looking for! Instead of condensed tomato soup (which I never buy), I used a cup of mild home-made salsa. I also used plain non-fat yogurt instead of milk. The result is perfectly spicy. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 468) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States