Butter Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I didn't have garam masala and it wasn't in the local grocer; so I looked up a substitute; of course I only had 5 of 7 ingredients of the substitute, but I added them in with this recipe, plus a jar of tikki masala and a cup of raisins. Along the way I added more milk; the raisins absorbed some liquid. Anyway, my husband and I both loved. Really good on white rice with a side of na'an...it was a heavy carb. night. good stuff though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This is a great dish. I don't have garam masala, but it's still tasty. My husband is a big fan of Indian food and whenever this is our evening meal, he is delighted. I make the Homemade Naan II bread from All Recipes to go with this...perfection!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
We love indian food....authentic indian. I knew when I read the recipe that it wasn't going to be what we would normally make, but it had great reviews...so I gave it a shot. The taste wasn't too bad, but it was kinda sloppy. Most potato and chick pea curries are more dry, this had a fairly thick, soupy, consistency. Can soup should never go in curry. If you are a curry lover, this recipe will disappoint:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This was so simple and tasted great. I used sweet potatoes instead of white and tomato paste instead of soup. It was quick to make and pretty fool-proof, a great recipe for a novice to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I found this recipe to be a bit bland for my taste. Next time I will add more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ospooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
It was ok, but the canned tomato soup turned me off. I also prefer traditional flavors which incorporate coconut milk over regular milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tenacgrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Major YUM! Loved it and most of the kids liked it too. I did half potatoes and half cauliflower and have to say the cauliflower was my favorite part! Will experiment like others with crushed tomatoes or sauce to get away from the canned tomato soup, but the recipe is great as it is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Very good. Followed peoples suggestions. I used cauliflower instead of potatoes. I also used diced tomatoes instead of tomato soup. I also added gresh ginger (instead of dried spice) and added 2 cloves of garlic. I did 1/2 hot curry and 1/2 curry. Can't wait to have the leftovers tomorrow. When the flavors can develop even more. My husband added siracha to his to really kick up the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I made this last night and I don't know what I could have done wrong as this was a super simple recipe, but I didn't think much of this. It was missing something. Maybe I should have used coconut milk in stead of regular milk. And I had to use a lot of extra milk. I don't think I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 463) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States