Butter Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Yummy! Didn't have garam masala on hand so made it from scratch. Think it made the cumin too over powering. Will buy some real spice and try again. Here's what I used for the garam masala: 1/2 tsp cumin 1/2 tsp paprika 1/4 tsp cinnamon 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper 1/4 tsp crumbled bay leaves 1/8 tsp ground cloves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Seaman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This is 5 stars with some modifications: cauliflower is WAY better. A little more curry powder and some more heat is good. I use diced tomatoes instead of soup. Cream or coconut milk is a must. Also, there are tons of different kinds of garam masalas out there so you should add that based on how it tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thugglife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Amazing dinner! Replaced half of the potatoes with cauliflower to add some veggies. I served over quinoa and it has been a favourite with my family and roommates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This is a great recipe! I made a few changes as well. I substituted stewed tomatoes for the soup and added 2 tablespoons of brown sugar to give it a bit of sweetness. We really enjoyed it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
used greek yogurt for the milk and crushed tomatoes for the soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Byron- Unger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I made this using cauliflower as suggested, also added corn and about 50% more of each spice. I thought it was really good at first, but near middle-end I was tired of the same flavor. Definitely good but I think it might be better as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilysmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I didn't have garam masala and it wasn't in the local grocer; so I looked up a substitute; of course I only had 5 of 7 ingredients of the substitute, but I added them in with this recipe, plus a jar of tikki masala and a cup of raisins. Along the way I added more milk; the raisins absorbed some liquid. Anyway, my husband and I both loved. Really good on white rice with a side of na'an...it was a heavy carb. night. good stuff though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This is a great dish. I don't have garam masala, but it's still tasty. My husband is a big fan of Indian food and whenever this is our evening meal, he is delighted. I make the Homemade Naan II bread from All Recipes to go with this...perfection!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
We love indian food....authentic indian. I knew when I read the recipe that it wasn't going to be what we would normally make, but it had great reviews...so I gave it a shot. The taste wasn't too bad, but it was kinda sloppy. Most potato and chick pea curries are more dry, this had a fairly thick, soupy, consistency. Can soup should never go in curry. If you are a curry lover, this recipe will disappoint:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This was so simple and tasted great. I used sweet potatoes instead of white and tomato paste instead of soup. It was quick to make and pretty fool-proof, a great recipe for a novice to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States