Butter Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Leymah
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
It was too thick, too creamy, and too bland. It was definitely lacking in spices. I doubled the garam masala, curry, and cumin to make it edible. Did not double the ginger. I will not make this recipe again and will create my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Delicious! I was looking for something quick, easy and tasty for my vegetarian son and this was perfect! He loved it so much we all had to try it. I was instantly sorry I hadn't made more. I'll be making it again for sure. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I thought this was great! The only thing I did different was add a touch more half & half for a creamier finish and tossed in some fresh spinach that needed to be used up. Looking at the other ideas it's an incredibly adaptable recipe, thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cpthomson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I was looking for a a good, simple vegetable curry/korma recipe after having it for the first time on a cruise ship and falling in love with it. I decided to try this recipe as I had most of the ingredients on hand, and I just adjusted it to what I had. I omitted the garam masala and ground ginger as I did not have any and instead added extra curry powder, I only used 2 potatoes, and added half a can of canned carrots and a small can of peas. It was SO DELICIOUS over rice, I will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This was delicious! Next time I'll add additional veggies, maybe peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Yummy! Didn't have garam masala on hand so made it from scratch. Think it made the cumin too over powering. Will buy some real spice and try again. Here's what I used for the garam masala: 1/2 tsp cumin 1/2 tsp paprika 1/4 tsp cinnamon 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper 1/4 tsp crumbled bay leaves 1/8 tsp ground cloves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Seaman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This is 5 stars with some modifications: cauliflower is WAY better. A little more curry powder and some more heat is good. I use diced tomatoes instead of soup. Cream or coconut milk is a must. Also, there are tons of different kinds of garam masalas out there so you should add that based on how it tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thugglife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Amazing dinner! Replaced half of the potatoes with cauliflower to add some veggies. I served over quinoa and it has been a favourite with my family and roommates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This is a great recipe! I made a few changes as well. I substituted stewed tomatoes for the soup and added 2 tablespoons of brown sugar to give it a bit of sweetness. We really enjoyed it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
used greek yogurt for the milk and crushed tomatoes for the soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States